Projectors Running From Up's

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by T0rNaDo, Dec 26, 2006.

  1. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    it would be nice to have a thread linked in the FAQ

    about this infomation..

    so it would be nice if all members
    that have Projectors that are connected to up's

    to put they infomation in here..

    stating the projector they have ... make - model
    its power comsumption ( if known )

    make and model of UP's
    power rating...


    it would help a lot of members and new people
    on a quick source of infomation.

    thanks..

    :smashin:
     
  2. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    32 views and no one using a ups..

    :eek:
     
  3. Moi

    Moi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Lausanne, CH
    Ratings:
    +1
    Good idea - but not having a UPS myself, I can't add anything more. Sorry :(
     
  4. Ballistix999

    Ballistix999
    Remembered (1966-2012)

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Big field, no neighbours
    Ratings:
    +70
    I'm using one on my Sony Pearl. It's a Unitek 600VA in line UPS that provides 15 mins or so off what I call "cooldown" cover for the Pearl.

    I'm also using Belkin in line 1200VA x 2 UPS's for my Denon Amp and other bit's and pieces.

    TT
     
  5. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +190
    I'm running my Sanyo Z3 through an APC Back-UPS CS 500. Only had the odd 'brown out' and a couple of short outages of electricity supply so far, the one time I happened to be watching the pj I only noticed because the amp flicked on and off and the dvd restarted.

    I looked into the power consumption of the Z3 at the time - try searching on my posts it might all still be there.
     
  6. Mr_Sukebe

    Mr_Sukebe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +214
    I have a UPS with just my lowly AE500.
    Only provides 5 mins to cool down the lamp, but that should be adequate, and at £50, would be madness not to.
     
  7. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    hey nice to see some replys :smashin:

    it would be a very good source of information for many others
    if we can get lots of replys :)


    i currently have a Z4 and plan to have it running off a up's

    just incase. :)
     
  8. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi, I posted about this a while ago and also got no replies! I am adding a PJ to my setup (Pearl or JVC) and it seems to be madness not to have a ups on it. Lamp cooling is SO important AFAIK. I stand to be corrected on this.

    I was planning to get a Unitek from Misco, I was planning the 1200Va to give plenty time.

    Good thread.

    Dave
     
  9. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    yes i remember reading one person had 1 abnormal shutdown.
    due to powerout or lose of power for a few secs.

    his bulb went after 1200hrs.
    when its typical time is 2000 hrs


    have a ups powering the pj is a must i think.
     
  10. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    come on guys/girls

    must be plenty more members out there

    that have a PJ connected to a ups.


    :smashin:
     
  11. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm planning to - just haven't got around to it yet!

    I've been given a big 3U APC jobby; now living in the Country means I'm scared of the power around here!
     
  12. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516
    As a new owner of a HD70 will I need one as the PJ shuts down in about 5 secs!
     
  13. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,157
    Fortunately, I've not suffered a power outage with the projector running (probably because I only use it very occasionally), but since Xmas we've had the electric cut off a few times.

    My brother is a sparky, and concluded that the RCD is tripping because the cables have been chewed in the loft by a temporary resident....a squirrel.

    The squirrel's entrance has been blocked off (he's definately gone now) and the wire problem has been fixed, but I'd still be a bit nervous of using a PJ at the moment without a UPS.

    So I'd definately like to know what UPS to buy that will supply at least 200W for about 5 minutes.

    Maplin have couple, Here
    and Here

    but I've no idea if they are up to the job.
     
  14. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    its not so much the time it takes to shut down..

    more how long the cooling fan runs on for,
    to cool the bulb down enough before it all turns off.
     
  15. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516
    Yep fair point but my fan shuts down with the unit in about 5-7 seconds....
     
  16. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Tornado,

    Have bought my ups now. Got a Unitek 1600va from Misco. Good price, now just need the PJ!

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  17. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    this one here i take it ?


    do let us all know how you get one once you get your PJ

    :)
     
  18. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,157
    I've just bought a modest 500VA (240W) UPS from maplin for just under £40.

    I don't want to plug anything other than my projector into it, so the rated capacity should be more than enough to power my Sony HS60 (when it arrives) for as long at it takes to power down correctly (about 2 minutes I think).

    The HS60's stated power consumption is 195W... so I'm assuming this UPS should be able to cope.

    Hopefully I should be able to try it out this weekend, and I'll post the outcome of its performance then.

    If it works, I think this should be a standard purchase with any projector.
    £40 is nothing compared with the damage caused by a power cut.
     
  19. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +190
    There are a number of websites out there that allow you to calculate the running time of UPS's at given loads. When I chose mine, I timed how long it took to shut down AND stop the fans, then found out the load with the PJ switched on and found which UPS could do that when the power was down. In reality you don't need to fully power the PJ once the lamp has gone off, but safety first. I haven't time to search out all the old threads but if you find them, there were definitely some links to the sites that show how to do the maths. Once you know how powerful a UPS you need, it's then a question of price/make etc. like everything else we buy!

    HTH

    S
     
  20. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    look forward to yuor comments once you have it sorted :)

    this would of been good to have linked in this thread also..
     
  21. cinema_revival

    cinema_revival
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    UPS units have been discussed a few times over at AVS from what I remember the ones that were suitable for a projector were a double conversion type which run from the mains and there is zero transfer time in a power outage situation.

    Most UPS have a detectable transfer time and that extingish the lamp.
     
  22. kurtz

    kurtz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    last place you'd look
    Ratings:
    +23
    Surely the whole point of a UPS is to maintain continuity of electrical service. As long as the load is within the max limit of the UPS then the switchover should not be long enough to disrupt service. The projector lamp should not be extinguished.

    Now, UPSs do have a detectable transfer time, but it is so brief that the capacitors in the projector power supply do not have time to discharge sufficiently to disrupt the regulated internal supply.

    This article discussing line interactive vs. double conversion UPS shows (in figure 2) that a heavily loaded switched mode power supply will hold up its DC for 18ms. Figure 3 explains that the IEC requirements for switched mode power supplies are to 'ride through' at least 10ms of interruption. As long as the UPS switches faster than that - and they do - then the projector supply will stay up.

    Double conversion has advantages for interference rejection, smaller size and tight voltage regulation - but disadvantages in terms of power consumption, heat dissipation and therefore long-term reliability.
     
  23. cinema_revival

    cinema_revival
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am only summarising what was reported over at AVS ( search their archive )

    I have no experience of a UPS.
     
  24. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    its all good info.......

    :smashin:
     
  25. beecee

    beecee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,329
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy, Fife
    Ratings:
    +506
  26. mjuenem

    mjuenem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Infocus 4800 hooked up to an APC SmartUPS 1500. It also has my amp and DVD player hooked up to it. I am not sure of the usefulness as Infocus says I can just turn the projector switch off at the unit when finished watching. The fans do not run when turned off this way. I should think they would know, right?

    Cheers
    Mark
     
  27. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,157
    Beecee, that UPS from maplin is the one I recently bought.

    It will provide a maximum of 240Watts... enough to power my Sony HS60 projector (195 Watts) but probably not anything with a more powerful lamp.

    Although I'm confident it will work for me in the event of a power failure, I'm reluctant to pull the plug on my projector just to test it.
    It did run my spare PC (a very modest one) for about 10 minutes so I know the UPS isn't faulty.

    The specs suggest it will be fine with a Sony HS60, but that only uses a 130Watt lamp. I'd be tempted to buy a bigger UPS than this for a brighter projector.
     
  28. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    the best way to proberly test it is like running a 300watt flood light from it and pull the plug to the ups.

    and see how long it lasts....

    far safely to test like that then using the PJ i would say..
     
  29. stevefish69

    stevefish69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +487
    Twice whilst watching a couple of films tonight my Amp shutdown and started up again. The lights went out in the rest of the house, but the PJ and DVD Player trundled through without a hitch :rolleyes:

    I've just clocked this cheap UPS from CPC

    http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/endecaSearch/partDetail.jsp?SKU=CS13802

    Looks like a bargain, and should power mt AE500 (Rated at only 180W) for long enough for me to jump up and switch it off to allow the bulb to cool.

    They a larger one for only £7 more which is enough to power an AX100 :devil:
     
  30. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    that was a bit lucky then.....

    i need to get one sorted now. to connect my Z4 and a pc tower ( no monitor ) to it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...