1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Projectors and wiring - Help

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by nunew33, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    The home improvement loan is approved, SWMBO has accepted the business case, the room is plastered, only thing left to do now is order the projetor, play with image then buy screen (still having a z3 ae500 quandry). But in the meantime I have to decide on cabling before I purchase.

    What I want to do is wire up projector and TV tpo sources without having to manually replu things.

    DVD is easy as I will be using 10m componant.

    The problem is how I wire up the Sky panasonic box and the VHS/VCR.

    To add further confusion I have a video sender.

    Current wiring to TV is DVD - straight scart - will use componant to Projector.

    VCR->Sky->video sender-> using scarts.

    Neither the VCR or Sky have additional outs other than scart.

    Am assuming I need some kind of breakout between Sky and video sender and am assuming it will have to be to composite to enable both VCR and sky (VCR VHS not SVHS). Ive seen scart to scarts with breakouts, are these any good?will there be any detrimental effect of breaking out without boosting signal?( especially if the signal will be sent up 10m cables)

    Is there a better way to wire?

    Sources will be in front of room, proj at back 10m cables are only option. Need to get wires soon as they will be laid under floorboards. Any help would be gratefully appreciated
     
  2. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hi

    You *definitely* need to be running RGB to your projector, not composite.

    I have done the following:-

    DVD->Projector on Component

    Sky->RGB Distribution Amp (from CPC)

    One SCART then goes to the TV, the other to the PJ

    If you really want to watch the VCR on the PJ. (It will look absolutely terrible), then you need to split off a composite video feed as well.

    Steve
     
  3. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the reply

    I was looking at the Sanyo z1/z2 or panny Ae500,
    none of which have scart.

    How would I get RGB in without splitting to component and therefore having to manually switch?

    Would an option be to use a scart to component and use DVD with svid or would scart to 15pin vga socket be an option?

    Not bothered about VCR really as DVD burner will be on order next year when they will be £30 in asda:D
     
  4. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Z1 takes RGB+CSync on it's VGA connector. I assume the Z2 will be the same.

    All you need is the right cable - there are lots of threads on here about how to make them up. (Including a couple by me!)

    Basically, you simply connect R->R, G->G, B->B and Composite -> HSync.

    Many projectors can take interlaced RGB + Sync through their VGA sockets using a Keene Syncblaster cable.

    The AE500 may be one of those - you would need to speak to an AE500 owner to check for sure though.

    Steve
     
  5. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    :eek: Just been on keene. Looked at scart to 15 pin HD and noticed that there are umpteen types and one specific to sanyo!!!

    I was hoping to get cables first projector once decorated. Unless of course I go for RGB scart extension + splitter/amp and then get scart to 15pin converter when I get proj.....why isnt this simple
     
  6. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Ok,

    Here's what I'd do:-

    Click this link

    VDC Trading Search Page

    And type VGA into the search box.

    Buy a MALE<>FEMALE VGA cable of whatever length you need.

    When you install it, make sure the MALE end is next to your projector.

    VDC also do high quality video cables as well so you could buy three (or four if you want composite) of their

    "phono ~ phono Van Damme 75 ofc video leads"

    At the same time. They are available in 5 colours and are very good quality, low cost leads.

    Next, buy the Keene Z1 cable (SBB92S) (this bit is only going to sit behind your TV).

    You can then simply plug the two cables together - job done!

    It is worth pointing out that if you are able to solder, you can save yourself £30 by simply soldering a SCART directly onto the end of the VDC VGA cable...

    Steve
     
  7. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok, was looking at VDC.

    So the shopping list for now is:
    From VDC:
    4 phono to phono for Component/composite 10m 40.12 +vat
    1 svid just in case 10m 14 + vat
    1 male-female vga 10m 18.91 + vat

    1 RGB Scart amplifier 29.52+vat From Here

    when I get proj or soldering iron then get Scart to vga. (Im assuming that regardless of projector a VGA/scart will be available for it)
    Total Approx £120 inc vat with a bit more to come
     
  8. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Your shopping list looks spot on.

    The RGB amp you selected is the same one I have, as are all the cables.

    I too ran an S-Video cable (for my laserdisc player). Every socket in the back of the Z1 is full!

    It is worth doing though as it will prevent you from having to rip your room apart in the future if you decide you forgot something!


    Steve
     
  9. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Steve.

    The order is on its way!!!
     
  10. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Like I said - *most* projectors will accept interlaced 15KHz RGB on their VGA socket. This is not guaranteed though. Z1 and (almost certainly) Z2 accept it without any modification. Other projectors may need a sync seperator, or might not work at all. I'm not personally aware of any that don't though...

    Steve
     
  11. Jim v2.0

    Jim v2.0
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to give you another option (admiteddly a more expensive one), I've got a DVD player, Tivo and VCR all going to my Z1 & Video sender.

    They all connect to a QuattroPro scart switch box. This can take four input feeds and output them to two different outputs at the same time. It supports RGB and is powered.

    One ouput (RGB scart) goes to a RGB/component converter. This feeds into a Progressive scan box which sends a RGB or Component signal to the Z1. The Britview also has a composite from the scart switcher to handle non RGB signals.

    The VCR picture is a tad nasty, but the progressive scan box makes the most of it and it's watchable.

    This setup is more expensive than your standard way, but maxamises your options and picture quality.

    Be aware though that the Z1 can get in a muddle and drop frames when taking an RGB signal via the VGA port.
     
  12. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hi

    I've been using Z1 for 11 months using RGB from TiVo into the VGA connector and have never once seen it drop a single frame.

    We use the projector at least three or four times a week. I would guess that of my 1500hrs usage, only about 200 were DVD's via component. The rest was RGB.

    I am absolutely positive I would have noticed if this was a problem.

    Steve
     
  13. Jim v2.0

    Jim v2.0
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem has been re-produced by a number of people and manufacturers.
     
  14. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    I noticed on I think it was keenes site that they had a Z1 scart to VGA cable
     
  15. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    I'm not being funny, or doubting you, but can you show me some evidence of this?

    I have actively followed both this forum and the AVS forum, with regard to the Z1 for the best part of a year now.

    I have never experienced any problems myself, nor can I recall any mention of the problem until now.

    There are issues with judder and frame dropping when using the VGA input in PC mode with non-standard refresh rates. But this is not what we are talking about.

    Steve
     
  16. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    It is worth pointing out that myself and Jim 2.0 are talking at slightly crossed purposes. If Jim's comments are taken in the context of his original posting, then they are valid. Taken in the context of my original post, they are not.

    I am claiming that the VGA input works perfectly well when being fed interlaced 15Khz video.

    Jim 2.0 is stating that there can be dropped frames when using an external processor.

    In case the original poster is concerned, there is no problem at all with the solution I suggested. The problem arises when an external processor is added to the equation.


    Steve
     
  17. Jim v2.0

    Jim v2.0
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  18. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Yes.

    That refers to progressive VGA input, not interlaced RGB input.

    I already acknowledged that in a previous post.

    None of this has anything to do with the recommendations I gave to the O/P.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...