Question Projector 'Sparkles' with Onkyo TX-SR875

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by GoodCoffeeCode, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. GoodCoffeeCode

    GoodCoffeeCode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I have been using an Optoma HD151X for a few months now and have notice sporadic 'sparkles' on the screen. They look like lively white pixels that are randomly dancing across the entire screen. Recently they have been getting more prominent, but there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to whether they'll happen the next time I turn everything on.

    Here's what I discovered today whilst swapping HDMI cables...

    Amazon TV -> Onkyo TX-SR875 -> Optoma HD151X :: SPARKLES
    Amazon TV -> Optoma HD151X :: No Sparkles
    Amazon TV -> Onkyo TX-SR875 -> Panasonic LCD :: SPARKLES

    Some people have said that the projector will be more sensitive to any problems compared to the LCD. Is it possible that I have a dodgy HDMI board on the Onkyo?

    Any help most appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,110
    So when you bypass the receiver you never get sparkles. My first port of call would be to look at the cable from the source to the receiver. HDMI send and receive chips have built in eq that expects the attached cable to be at least 9ft long. As the vogue is for short cables this is usually where problems occur. Swaping out a sub1m or 1m cable for a decent (not expensive) 2m or 2.5m cable often fixes issues like this.
     
  3. GoodCoffeeCode

    GoodCoffeeCode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gordon,

    All the cables running from sources to the receiver are of reasonable quality and 2m in length. I have just tried this combination:

    Amazon TV -> 2m HDMI -> Optoma HD151X :: No Sparkles

    Further information: when the Onkyo is starting and it projects the logo, there are no sparkles. Similarly, when I enter the Onkyo's setup menu, the sparkles immediately disappear - only to reappear again once the movie continues.

    This is driving me bonkers!
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,110
  5. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,658
  6. GoodCoffeeCode

    GoodCoffeeCode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure. Had a look through the menu items, but there nothing obvious re: processing or up-scaling. Where should I be looking?
     
  7. GoodCoffeeCode

    GoodCoffeeCode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Further experiment:

    Panasonic Blu-Ray -> HDMI -> Onkyo -> Optoma :: SPARKLES
    Panasonic Blu-Ray -> Crappy component video -> Onkyo -> Optoma :: No Sparkles

    Definitely feeling like an HDMI issue now.
     
  8. GoodCoffeeCode

    GoodCoffeeCode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Andy, but that issue seems to be related to audio and networking problems. Also, only looks like US warranty. I have a 'bought new' TX-SR875 but the serial number is just 10 digits, not the 16 that the web page is looking for.
     
  9. GoodCoffeeCode

    GoodCoffeeCode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    BREAKTHROUGH!

    In the Onkyo menu I went:

    1 Input/Output Assign
    ->
    1. Monitor Out
    ->
    Resolution

    Changed resolution from 1080p to Through. No more sparkles!!!

    Have I not just dumbed down my screen image though?
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,568
    No - your simply using the Display device to process the Source signal vs. processing in the AVR (and often reprocessing in the Display).

    Potentially you now have a better image (and no sparkles :)).

    Joe
     
  11. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,658
    The threads on this issue , there are many of them across many sites, all refer to bad HDMI boards and sparklies, audio droputs, and simply no picture are all symptoms.

    Youve turned off the faulty component, and now you have a good picture.
    But you still have a faulty amp!

    You have just successfully identified the root cause, the amp is faulty.

    The choice should be yours as to which device does the scaling, once set to 1080p the amp should output that and the projector wont do any scaling, but the scaled output of the amp is faulty!

    Its not going to get any better...
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,568
    As Andy says potentially a faulty AVR - contact Onkyo and seek a free repair (even if you don't necessarily need that Feature).

    Joe
     
  13. GoodCoffeeCode

    GoodCoffeeCode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone. Is the proceeding don't on the HDMI board itself? Would replacing that solve the problem, or is it handled elsewhere in the AVR?
     

Share This Page

Loading...