Projector sound

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by lightie27, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. lightie27

    lightie27
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I hope this is in the right section if not please accept my apologies in advance.
    I want to run my ps4 and sky from the tv or projector. Can it be done im thinking of

    1. Hdmi Splitter from sky then one hdmi to tv one to amp

    2. Hdmi splitter from ps3 then one hdmi to tv one to amp

    So when amp is off sound comes through tv as per norm then when amp is on sound comes through amp
    Or plug straight into amp and keep amp on with sound off to watch the tv

    3. For projector connect to hdmi output on amp so inputs from sky and ps3 goes from amp to projector and sound comes through amp
    Anyhelp would be great cheers
     
  2. paulr2006

    paulr2006
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9,528
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +2,506
    Best to connect all your sources to the Amp. Then 1 x splitter; output to tv and other to PJ. Many amps now have pass through when switched off (standby) like Yamaha etc. so you can view tv with Amp. In standby if required.
     
  3. lightie27

    lightie27
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi thanks for the reply. My amp is onkyo hts3505 will this have the standby feature. So if i do the above set up am i right that the sound will come through tv when in stand by as normal and when on and projector on the surround sound kicks in. Is there a reccomended splitter to use.
    Sorry to ask alot new to all this
     
  4. paulr2006

    paulr2006
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9,528
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +2,506
    Sorry I don't know if the Onkyo has this feature but I would suspect it does, easy to try; connect sky to it and output to tv with amp in standby, if you get a picture then it does, on the Yamaha you can switch between hdmi inputs in standby. There are two splitters I would recommend are the Neet 2:1 or Cablesson 2:1 Available from Amazon or other outlets between about £24 - £29
     
  5. paulr2006

    paulr2006
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9,528
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +2,506

Share This Page

Loading...