Projector 'shelf' ceiling mount ?.

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by panman40, Apr 3, 2016.

1. panman40

panman40
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,243
    Just wondering if there are any Shelves that can be used to fix to the ceiling that will enable a projector to be used on its feet rather than upside down ?, I can see there's several shelves available that fix to a back wall etc but not hand from the ceiling.

Also what's the general consensus about the peerless PRG UNV ceiling mount V the Vogals PPC 1500 ?.

Thanks.

Martin.

2. jfinnie

jfinnie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    I have no experience of the PRG UNV, but do have a Vogels PPC1500. Aesthetically nice compact mount; tilt axis aren't very smooth running I find, though you only set it up once. No cable management facilities. I'm happy with it for now but I might consider upgrading if I move to a JVC as it would be right on the weight limit.

3. mcspongy

mcspongy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +735
    Hi Martin
    I bought a PRG when I changed my Sony to the JVC, and I find it very good. It would be better if the precision adjustments were in all 3 axes, but it's nice and solid once set up. I chose it because the legs are long enough to accommodate the large JVC mounting hole distances, but also because it has the 1.5NPT fitting which allows a huge choice of columns if you need a drop from ceiling like I do (I believe th Vogels is a Vogels-specific column size). I managed to bag the Peerless cheaply off Amazon at the time, and I almost bought another one (it was the other colour) off eBay the other day until the seller cancelled the sale.

(I have also got a spare upper half (in black), but not the lowered part which has the legs high attach to the PJ, but if you happened to find the lower part I would gladly let you have the upper part).

4. panman40

panman40