projector set up

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by squid, May 13, 2001.

  1. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    why is it that every where you look in the uk evry one says it is just about imposable to set up a crt projector your self

    i received my first ever projector yesterday an electrohome ecp4500 (the one from projectorvision )within about an hour of facing it at a wall (after the 45 min warm up time)i had a picture wich was to my eyes every bit as good as my 32" wide screen

    if i listened to all the people on the net i would have never taken the plung in to crt (there is are experts to set one up around here)

    the only problem that i do have is that the rgb card has been replace with a s-video card . is there a place on the net (in the uk)that sells spairs for the electrohome .
    i have contacted "crt projectors.com" on several ocasions with no responce

    i want to conect my hcpc up and get te best from my new baby

    thanks simon :D :D :D


    ps:- i would like to thank the avsforum for there help . used electrohomes are a big part of home cinema in the us , just sad to see they don't get the same sort of credit in the uk

    [ 13-05-2001: Message edited by: squid ]
     
  2. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,623
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,501
    squid, a properly set up CRT projector should look substantially better than a 32" TV!!!!
     
  3. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    i know and it will . the projector was just set up to jus to make sure it is working . i was pointing at the only white thing in the house . i'm not big on white walls). a gloss whitw door . not the best thing to point it at iknow but the best i had . i am waiting for my 80"x60" matt white screen to arive

    i was just staiting that if somone unskilled (and they don't come more unskilled than me) can get a picture that you can compare with a standard tv after a short time pointed at a door . i just don't see why you have to get a profesional in to set it up .

    i'm sure there is a great number of people out there who are put off crt for that very reson . i am on a very tight budget. the only other alternative to me other than getting a cheep second had crt and setting it up myself, would be to go for a low end lcd like one of the low end sharps

    i think that i made the right desision :)
     
  4. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    A badly set-up projector can fail very quickly and expensivley.
     
  5. sam10

    sam10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Squid,
    I am just about to get an Electrohome ECP4000, or something like that and would be interested if you find anyone selling spares at a good price.

    Also, I will be setting it up myself, have you any tips for me.

    Thanks, Neil.
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,048
    You can service a Porsche with tools and a Haynes workshop manual. Do you think that you would do as good a job as the guy who spends his life specialising in getting the last ounce of performance from the thing.

    You are right that it's not too hard to get a pretty watchable picture from a projector. Once you see what an extremely well installed and set up and calibrated unit can do you may think about paying for that expertise as well.

    No-one should be put off buying CRT's by the fact it nmight be hard or awkward to install. You can always try yourslef first nad if you aren't happy then find someone to help.

    Electrohome isn't so well known over here as they didn't seem to penetrate the commercial installation market as much as Sony, Barco and NEC. Even though they are no more Christie Digital still exist and the new UK distributor for them, Marata Vision, may be able to help with spare parts.

    Hope this helps,

    Gordon
     
  7. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice to hear from you gordon on this matter

    that's just what i was trying to say
    i know that we may not be able to get the sort of result that a professional can from a crt projector

    it is just that there are people around like myself (unemployed) that have few options. if i had the money i would be out there now getting the best setup posable and get everything done for me .

    the other thing is there is no one who sells projectors in my area ( not that i have found anyway )and no one willing or capable to set one up

    the only real projectors i have seen are in pubs and clubs and even with my limited now how i'm sure i could do a better job of setting them up than who ever did the istalation job on them

    just thought i would tell people in the uk that not all is lost if you want the quality of crt with limited funds is all

    from what i have read though the electrohomes are one of the least problamatic to set up on your own .you may allso have a lot more dificulty if you get an analoge unit

    i would juat like to add one more thing

    from what i have said no one think that if is easy to set up a crt , it takes time . befor taking the plunge at least go to the avs forum and have a look at some of the problems you make encounter and then make up your own mind

    hope this helps

    lots of love
    simon
     
  8. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would just like to state for the record that i did not just go and buy a crt projector . i first spent a lot of time researching the subject. i have spent days (and i mean 24 hour periods) going through every post on the avs forum and other forums like the taw forum on the subject of vrt setup

    i would sugest that anyone thinking of going the crt path to do the same . it is no good expecting to be able to set one up with no idear of how they work . they are very complex beasts

    love and hugs

    simon
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,048
    Simon,

    The latest Electrohome's/Christie's are supposed to be very stable devices.

    Earlier ones like yours seemed to have multiple little mods done throughout their lives to fix and tweak faults. I'm sure you've checked but I think that the most common, and very easily and cheaply fixed, thing with yours was a focus board problem. A resistor would flake out causing it to be impossible to get a sharp beam focus. You've probably read all about it on AVS though.

    The ECP4000 etc are very compact for 7" crt's so those wanting to save some space may consider them a good option.

    Gordon

    P.S. Nice start!
     
  10. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks gordon
    i'm sure i'm not the only one to be encouraged by your words of wisdom and willingness to take the time to help us not in the know

    neil the only real advise i can offer you is go and search the avs forum under electrohome or ecp . i am just a starter in this like your self and any other advise i give may not be accurate

    if yu have any problems i'm sure that curt palmer or one of the others over there will be more than happy to help

    as gordon has said electrohome did'nt realy find a big uk market unlike barco and sony but are very big in the us among enthusiasts.
    most of them have set up there projectors on there own and are only to willing to help . a very king individual even scanned the manual for my projector and sent it to me

    the only main problem i am left with is how to get the thing to it's ceiling bracket (need to make freinds with some larg men i think)

    yours
    simon

    ps:-gordon i hope you having a nice time over there :)

    [ 19-05-2001: Message edited by: squid ]
     
  11. sam10

    sam10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where would I find the AVS forum.

    Thanks, Neil.
     
  12. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. Matty N

    Matty N
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. Arthur.S

    Arthur.S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Squid, I take my hat off to you for what you've achieved. Should be a big encouragement to others on this BB. I toyed with the same idea about 2 years ago, but 'bottled it' & went for a new Seleco 310. Things have changed a lot since then though, mostly because of forums like this, & AVS, which I'd never heard of at the time.
    I also agree with Gordon though. My 310 was originally set-up by a company that specialised in Barco, they'd never done a Seleco before. To cut a long story short - I wasn't happy! Although the picture quality was head & shoulders better than the 320 in my local, it obviously wasn't as good as it should be. I managed to improve it slightly myself, but still wasn't happy. Eventually, Chris Frost of OWL came along & re-set it up from scratch. The difference was astonishing. I don't use those words lightly!
    I do know though, that Seleco have a reputation for not being the easiest CRT to set-up. The Barco's that I saw, looked a lot simpler.
     
  15. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks Arthur

    i'm sure that not all projectors are as easy as the electohomes , they even have on screen set up guides to help you (a lot like the windows help )

    i finaly got my screen up today and had a quick mess with projector. what a diferens a proper screen makes the picture was incredible

    i am just left with on problem i can not sort out. there is a line running from top to bottom about 12" in from the left side . if you look in the tubes when the picture is up you can see it and another one paralel with it that dose not show on the screen
    i don't think they can be burn in as they move when i use the keystone and pincusioning . they can't be the dvd player becouse they stay in the same place when you use the move button to move the image . they can't be the imput card becouse they are there on both imput card .

    i am at a loss . if anyone knows what could be the problem i am open to sugestions

    thanks
    simon
     
  16. Arthur.S

    Arthur.S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about left/right blanking?
     
  17. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    unfortunatly it only has top bottom blanking . i'm going to get a new s-video cable soon , just hope that helps.

    thanks anyway

    simon
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice