1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Projector placement options

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Crivens, Apr 25, 2005.

1. Crivens

Crivens

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, so I'm almost ready to get a HS50. I've measured up and it works out to be 5 metres from projector to screen. Or slightly more depending on the size and exact location of projector (cables on back might cause it to be an inch or two away from wall).

Anyhow, I'm new to projectors, and have been using the online screen calculator at Projector central to work out the size of screen I will get. It reckons with a 5 metre throw I should get a 112" diagonal screen with 1x zoom. Ace. Although the screen I want, and conveniently pretty much the maximum size for the space, is a DRH slimline 16:9 at 231 cm wide. Which gives 104" according to the calculator. Which also calculates that for this screen you would need 4.66m throw with 1x zoom.

Now I notice that the calculator does not allow you to make the image smaller by having a zoom factor of less than 1x. Is this true (ie. the HS50 cannot physically go below 1x zoom) or is this just a a flaw in the calculator's programming? If it is true then this comes to my second question. I have heard that these days you can pretty much position your projector anywhere and with a bit of adjustment the image will appear perfectly correct. So can I position the projector on the side wall rather than the back wall? Because of the hassle with installations, my appaling DIY skills, and the fact I am moving house in less than a year, then I would rather avoid ceiling installations. A good shelf seems like a good idea to me. And if it needs to be nearer then this seems to be the easiest way.