Projector offset vs optimal image height... how do you achieve it?

donkmeister

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I could do with some advice on ceiling mounting a projector as I've either got my maths wrong, am aiming for an unusually small screen, or I need to consider having the picture further up the wall than I had hoped. This is my first projector install so I might be missing some vital point.

We're shortly going to be gutting our living room, and while the ceilings are down and we're chasing in power cables we are taking the opportunity to do a home cinema installation. Room dimensions are 4.35m long x 3.2m wide x 2.4m high. As we have other rooms in the house where we can do standard TV watching, the plan is that the living room will do double-duty as a sitting room and a cinema. So it doesn't need to be a stealth install, but at the same time I don't want to be packing the projector away after each viewing, or putting a cabinet in the middle of the room. Door and fireplace location limits sofa placement, which means we are putting the screen on the 3.2m wide end wall, with a window on the opposite wall (black out blind to be ordered!) so we can't do a shelf mount.

We need 4k and 3D to play all of our source material and I'm tending towards the native-4K BenQ projectors. These projectors have a 110% offset, which in BenQ's use of offset percentages means a 100cm-tall image from a projector can be aligned with the top edge of the image up to 10cm below the centreline of the lens. A screen size between 80" and 90" diagonal looks to be optimal when I mark it on the wall and imagine watching a film there without having to dart my head around the place. Viewing distance 3.8m from the best seat in the room to the centre of the picture, around 2.9m from the least good.