• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Projector Newbie - Help me decide what to get?

dieni

Standard Member
Hi, total newbie here... In a months time we will be moving into our recently refurbished home.

I still haven't decided between a 55" Led TV or a projector. The BenQ W1070 has caught my attention, considering its price/performance, but I am not sure it will fit into my room. Can you please tell me if it will fit or not? Attached is a pic showing how the room will be setup including dimensions.

Considering the wall unit, the max size horizontally for the screen in about 2m, not sure if this is enough for the BenQ projector taking into account the throw distance..

Total newbie here, so bear with me :rolleyes:

Attachments

• Living.JPG
    Living.JPG
    53.4 KB · Views: 106
Last edited:

True Romance

Distinguished Member
Is this for every day use? If so a pj imho is not really suitable for everyday use, you can't just turn them on and off like TV's. Bulbs will need replacing after around 3000hrs approx. Better to get a normal TV for general use and then use the PJ for films and big screen events (football, etc).

dieni

Standard Member
Hi, no actually is the watching movies/football room. I have another everyday living room which I will place another TV there.

True Romance

Distinguished Member
Hi, no actually is the watching movies/football room. I have another everyday living room which I will place another TV there.

Oh ok. In that case the first thing you need to do is try and get a demo of a DLP pj and see if you can see rainbows (google dlp rainbows).

dieni

Standard Member