1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Projector Mains Cable

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by HSC, Jul 4, 2005.

  1. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +135
    Hi All

    I know this should probably be in the Cable forum - but looking through there folks seem more keen on the DIY route.
    However I am sure some of you here have faced the same problem.

    I need a long length mains cable for my HS50 - approx 5m-6m.
    I am not keen on the DIY route but I am keen on quality (I have used Russ Andrews mains cables on my previous setup).

    Here's the catch - I am on a budget of <£100.....

    Any advise please...
     
  2. abspag

    abspag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think because of your budget the best way is DIY it is not difficult to do, if you can wire a plug you can make your own cable. I have got Russ Andrews mains cables on all my units they work out quite expensive and to be honest I can't hear any difference from the leads that came with the equipment.
     
  3. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +135
    the reply I feared most...
     
  4. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    I tried two different types of mains cables and neither made any difference to the video quality, so you don't have to spend a lot on a mains lead. DIY is the best way and I'm sure you must know someone who can wire a plug and an IEC connector for you.

    With all the expensive high-end kit out there, how many come with Russ Andrews type mains leads? If that was really going to make a big diference they would fit one to their products. After all, if you're spending £1000s on an amp for example, a mains lead isn't going to add much to the price for the manufacturer to include it.

    Gary.
     
  5. abspag

    abspag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is interesting that manufacturers don't include better mains leads if they are that important to the overall quality of the picture. I keep swopping my £75 Russ Andrews lead for the freebie and can't see any difference nor can my friends. They keep telling us the importance of mains leads and cables and we fall for it every time ( I paid £385 for a Nordost lead still can't hear any difference). What are the experiences of other members ?
     
  6. summat

    summat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd love to know how the <10m of "decent" quality mains cable can have any bearing on the rest of the electrical distribution network. Snake-Oil, anyone?
     
  7. adomingos

    adomingos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think DIY also and recomend Supra LoRad 2.5 :smashin:

    I'm very pragamatic concerning cables, so i use in this case the Supra due is shield wich avoids RFI-EMI interferences from whatever sources nearby. So, just to say that i use it, not to improve, but not to let degrade which in turn if it's the case is an improvement! :eek:

    Was I confuse enough? :)
     
  8. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it a no no to use a surge protected 4 way extension socket £7.99 from woolworths?

    Thats what im using...
     
  9. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    I don't see why not.

    Gary.
     
  10. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    It's amazing. House builders install the cheapest twin and earth from your mains box to your plug and folk go out and spend 100 quid on a mains cable.

    I'm stunned.
     
  11. abspag

    abspag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree Cyberheater, though companies like Russ Andrews exist and profit. OK. they say 30 day return and give a time for "burn in". I would like to know how many people return their leads. I suspect like me once you have them set up in your system people just leave them there. PS what size is that BenQ LCD ?
     
  12. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its the same principle for mobile phone cashback deals. 70% do not claim the cashback! Either they cant be bothered, forget or do so incorrectly (eg late or with wrong forms)
     
  13. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    .

    Thanks Gary... or shd i say Peter Parker!

    I figured the Z3 was special so used a surge protection lead.

    The other interesting thing is I got my Z3 from Japan (now under £600 in Japan!) and I cut the Japanese plug off and was dismayed to find black and white wires contrary to european colouring of neutral/live. Luckily google was on hand although i recommend anyone else just gets an adapter!
     
  14. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    Well, Cyberheater's using Iron Man, so I thought I'd be Spidey/PP.

    We have the same birthday as well. :)

    In theory, having just two wires shouldn't make any difference how you wire it, because being AC means each conductor is live 50% of the time. :D

    Gary.
     
  15. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll be emailing you for advice next time i have a technical panic attack! (I wasnt half stressed and spent a long time googling before i committed to where the colours went - fingers crossed when i switched it back on too!!!)
    :oops:
     
  16. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    Not even in theory. If the mains is going thru a transformer, it doesn't matter which end you connect up.
     
  17. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    Good point Mr Stark. :)

    Gary.
     
  18. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    But its my baby Z3 projector, the day i spent googling and pondering which wire went where was worth it even though it delayed the launch of my home cinema proper!

    Ultimately a futile exercise it seems but at least (unlike expensive cables) i didnt lose any money ;)
     
  19. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    Better to be safe than sorry, and it never hurts to do some research at least, especialy if there's a possibility of damage occuring.

    Gary.
     
  20. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    Yep. Couldn't agree more Mr Parker :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...