1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Projector from 2.5 meters???

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by PC_112, Apr 23, 2005.

1. PC_112

PC_112

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello,

I was about to buy a 42" plasma, but now I started thinking about a projector. I am total newbie in this, so please forgive me if some of the questions sound stupid.

Plasmas look great, but the big picture that I can get with a projector seems great for movies. My room is 3mx3m and the distance from my eyes to the screen will be about 2.5m. What is the biggest picture I will be able to watch from this distance? 60in? How about 90in??

How about a projector for watching movies and documentaries on TV? How about playing X-box? Can a sub 1200 pounds projector be equally good with a plasma for these kind of things?

How about connection with computer? Which is better, a good 42" plasma or a good sub 1200 pounds projector?

I never used a projector before. Apart from the fact that you need a darker room to watch compared with the TV, and that their lamps might need to be changes every couple of years, is there anything else I should know about?

Thanks!!

2. scumball

scumball

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +411
    I've got a Panasonic AE700, viewed from about 3m on a 92" Beamax 16:9 screen. XBox goes in Component from the MS Hi-Def pack, the PC can go in through the standard VGA input (or a DVI to HDMI convertor), my DVD goes in HDMI and I've still got a Scart socket free if I want to hook Sky up for any reason.

I think it's the business (I've never had a pj before), Soul Calibur and Amped 2 in 720p look amazing and movies take on a whole new feel on a 7-8ft screen. Everyone who has seen it loves it, and it just rolls up out of the way at the end of the night.