1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Projector cableing advice request

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Beamer, Oct 13, 2002.

  1. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    I’m currently having my ceiling replaced and want to take advantage by installing cables for a ceiling mounted TW100 projector. Since I will not have the chance to change the cabling after the ceiling is up, I am seeking advice as to what cables to install.

    Presently my thoughts are three URM70 coax cables for component and possibly an S-Video cable. I would have liked to install a DVI-I cable for future use but the length required is a problem. The projector cable run is about 7 metres.

    Any advice appreciated
     
  2. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I've just got a 10m dvi from www.lindy.com, about £40, I've installed it but cannot try it out as my ae100 doesn't have dvi, I just wanted to future proof my install ready for the next upgrade.
     
  3. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi John

    Could you confirm the web address as www.lindy.com as I'm getting an address look up error.

    Thanks for the info.

    Chris
     
  4. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    John

    I just confirmed the address but their site is down. I will try again later. Did you buy a DVI-I to DVI-I?
     
  5. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    It was this one when the site is back up.
     
  6. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    John

    Thanks for the link but it does not work without the full line if information. Your link is abbreviated. I looked at the DVI cables but could not find one with you part number, nor could I find the part number using their search engine.

    How did you find it?
     
  7. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    This I got from JR Wood in another thread

    That was the link that worked for me.... but I cant get to it today. What about phoning them, this was the phone no on my invoice 01642 754000, item-no was 41248 £40.24 inc carriage.
     
  8. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    John

    Thanks for all the info, the cable looks good but is it a DVI-I or DVI-D? I will give the number a call tomorrow. Hopefully it's a DVI-I connector for both our sakes!

    Thanks again.

    Chris
     
  9. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi John

    I found out that the new stock of these cables is strictly digital, the analogue connections have been removed. Since we need it for the digital input I'm keepimg my fingers crossed and have ordered one.

    Did you come up with any good ideas to camaflage it coming out of the wall?

    Thanks for your assistance on this one, I had never heard of Lindy!
     
  10. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why not just install a cable duct, then you can put new cables inn later.
    If not: DVI, component, VGA, S-video and compositt
    Should cover all of it.
     
  11. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Magking

    Seems like a simple and sensible idea but can a cable duct be hidden. I don't think it would look very nice to have a surface cable duct. I like the idea and thanks for the suggestion.

    Chris
     
  12. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Beamer, good news about the cable as I'd already installed it.....All my cables come out through a hole in a blank wall plate that was cut to the size of the dvi which was the biggest using a drill and a dremmel, as for ducting, its alright untill youve got lots of cables in it and it goes around corners and across joists:( But a great idea in principle.:)
     
  13. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    John

    How did you get the DVI plug through the hole in the wall plate? Looking at the cable it would seem that the connectors are firmly connected (soldered) to the cable.

    Chris
     
  14. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I cut the wall plate hole to the shape of the dvi plug, just a mm bigger all round, then fed the vga through, then the svideo, then component and composite, (plugs getting smaller as the hole size reduces as you fill it up). All you see is a FAT bunch of cables from the wall plate.
     
  15. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    John

    I originally planned to have all connection made via wall mounted sockets but I may revisit this idea given the DVI plug problem and follow your lead.

    I have ordered the DVI lead and am attempting to borrow a DVI display adapter to test everything and will let you know how it goes!
     

Share This Page

Loading...