Projector 1080p or 720p?

slipshaney

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Im looking at getting one of the above plus a 100" screen

Complete NOOB at thsi, but was looking at the dated Optoma HD700x (can get it second hand) or else the Optoma HD200

Just want to get some peoples opinions/help as to whats best for me

The room that its going into is 8.5ft wide X 16ft long

Thanks in advance

With a 100" screen depending on how close you will be sitting a 1080p would be best.You could sit between 9-12ft to get the best from a 1080p where 12-16ft would be best with 720p.

To get the best from either resolution you would need to feed it with the best signal possible (1080p bluray or HDDVD)200x should be available for £400-500 used or even maybe a refurb (there have been a few available on ebay very recently).

Don't forget you need sound so do you already have a sound system or not, in which case you will need an amplifier and anywhere from 2 speakers (stereo) to 5.1 for a full system to get the best from your a/v experience.

http://www.tesco.com/direct/optoma-...=206-1234&pageLevel=&sc_cmp=pcp_GSF__206-1234

Last edited:
thanks for the quick reply - I appreciate it

So you dont think the 700x would be much good for my room? Would I be better off getting a full HD mode - any suggestions?

I would ideally hook the projector up via HDMI to an amp, and connect everything else up to the amp then. I already have a 7.1 system in another room but would probably just get a 5.1 system to start (if I can afford it!)

Last edited:
I did not say the 700x would not be much good in your room just that 1080p will be better if viewed at the distances I stated.

If you sat at the back of your room (15ft approx) there would be little difference in sharpness between the two projectors.The real advantage of the 1080p is that as long as playing 1080p source material you can sit much closer which in effect gives you a much larger screen.