1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

projecting AVI video from a CD onto a beamer...HOW?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by captainx, Apr 28, 2005.

1. captainx

captainx

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is an extremely newbie-ish question but I'm still hoping for someone to help me out with a step-by-step answer...

I have to project an .AVI or .WMV video (that is on a CD), on to a screen through a beamer. I have never done this before so if someone would take the time to explain how this works and what I would need for it that would be most helpful. I suppose I need a cd with the files on it, a computer or laptop, a beamer and a screen. No clue how it all works though and how I hook it all up. Thanks!

2. DaveP

DaveP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's a beamer? (I only know it as a car made by Germans!)

Dave

3. stlic

stlic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    My guess is beamer is used here to describe a projector. A language barrier perhaps exists.

To captainx your basic description pretty much covers how it works.

4. Ray

Ray

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +23
    You've guessed correctly. I assume this is probably for a work presentation ? If so I suggest you get a reasonably powerful laptop running Win XP with Media Player as this will easily handle your AVI and WMV files. Whilst you could run the movies from the CD the performance of the CD drive and data transfer rate will impact the quality of projection so I suggest you copy the files onto the hard drive and open them up in Media Player straight from the C drive.