1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project Gotham2

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by SILVERBACK, Nov 15, 2003.

  1. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    let me just say i have not been this impressed with a car racing game since i first layed hands on the legendary gran turismo1 on import for the ps1.for me everything after GT1 kinda fell short (gt2+3 included)but this game really is something special.its better than the last gotham and the last was no slouch of a game,straight off the bat you can get into a FERRARI ENZO AND A ZONDA AND A FEW MORE CARS YOU WILL NEVER DRIVE IN REAL LIFE LOL.i might aswell seal up the disc tray on my xbox because this little baby is never coming out lol.

    :clap: :clap: :clap: BIZARRE CREATIONS :clap: :clap: :clap: I LOVE YOU :smashin:
     
  2. Spoonman2

    Spoonman2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,689
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    Fantastic game, as I read in another thread, "look out GT4" :)

    Cant wait to play it online, its just sooooooo good.


    Spoony.
     
  3. TranceFan

    TranceFan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +173
    i was not impressed so far with this game, it runs at 30fps and the backgrounds are not much better than the first game. (yes i am a graphics whore). i was hoping theyd be almost photo realistic. seems as though they rushed it out for Christmas.
     
  4. peahead

    peahead
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +285
    ok then:suicide:
     
  5. zcaps57

    zcaps57
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree. Graphics are VERY GOOD. But it is not mind-blowing nor jaw-droppping. Far from photo-realistic...

    And 30fps doesn't trouble game play, BUT it isn't smooth as butter either, specially if you played 60fps racers such as PGR1, SEGA GT2002, MotoGP2...etc.

    Personally, I'm somewhat disappointed...
    But overall, it is indeed a fantastic racer.
     
  6. TranceFan

    TranceFan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +173
    im looking out for Rallisport Challenge 2 - the first one was a corker graphics wise...:)
     
  7. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    I expect the 30fps is to help with online racing which I've heard is stunning and just about lag free :)
    I'd rather have a very good looking game that looks the same online rather than something that looks amazing offline and then has to add 200yds of fogging to allow solid online play :)

    Here's a playtest of the game online

    courtesy of DC-Arena :) definately worth a read of you're looking forward to this game.
     
  8. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    I've never got this thing about games having to run at 60fps or there abouts.

    The human eye CAN'T see anything above 25fps. Anything above that just means we skip being able to see so many frames.

    Just seems strange to me, or what am i missing?
     
  9. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    all to do with smoothness mate. You can notice the difference, moreso when looking at scenery than anything else, but I would rather have a rock solid frame rate than anything else..

    I am curious as to what version these guys are playing..:confused:
     
  10. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    what version?
     
  11. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    lol, yes mate..what version. It isn't out on US, Jap or UK yet so if it's the demo you guys are playing then of course that doesn;t reflect the full game..

    pretty simple really..;)
     
  12. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm going to hazard a guess that its a pirated version. :nono:

    I thought that the 30fps was an issue after playing the demo and even more so with the full version that I had a chance to play at at Microsofts stand at the PC World opening event last weekend.

    GG you are partially correct. The eye can detect much more than 25fps but the brain can't act on that much information in total, but it does make a difference when you use more frames, notably when you are trying to fool the brain into thinking that something is travelling at speed. For some they will still be fooled for others they won't feel the speed, personally I didn't feel that PGR2 felt like you were going fast, but MotoGP really felt that you were pelting it. Although it does look like it will be a great game, esp online.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  13. TranceFan

    TranceFan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +173
    not a demo, played the full release leaked to internet early :)

    not to say PGR2 is slow or bad, just dont get that rush of speed like Burnout 2 which runs at 60fps. from the stills on the marketing you think the game would have photo realistic backgournds, but not the case. still an excellent racer, but not the best visuals ever as some pepl have been boasting.
     
  14. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +96
    I think the marketing stills show the 720p hi-def version that you will see if you have a compatible display. I do, so I can't wait to get this game!

    :D
     
  15. wiped

    wiped
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does not do 720p the "highest" it will go is 480p ofcourse as any "standard" game when using component. Looks good though..
     
  16. Spoonman2

    Spoonman2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,689
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    Cant a plasma display 720dp???

    My prog` scan tv only oges to 480, but still looks nice.

    Spoony.
     
  17. wiped

    wiped
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plasmas can display 720p but the game isn't supporting this resolution. A few games do but this one does not.
     
  18. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +96
    Sorry guys I am talking about the US version as I have an NTSC XBox, and according to Team XBox forums the NTSC version does have 720p support.

    Sorry for the mix-up.
     
  19. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    BTW, PAL Xbox games do +NOT+ support progressive scan unless you have a chipped console and use the region select disc. If you see the HDTV options with a PAL console they don't do anything its a bug. MS decided that the UK wasn't to have HDTV modes, when you connect to live it will download a fix for this and the HDTV modes will disappear.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  20. wiped

    wiped
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, have to get the ntsc version then, must look good in 720p anyone have this 100% confirmed?
     
  21. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +96
    I don't think I'm allowed to post a link to another forum, but on Team XBox there is a thread called 'PGR2 Impressions' where someone has posted 720p screen caps from a projector setup, though the guy wasn't sure if his TV was upconverting. I must say his screenshots look astonishing though, no jaggies to be seen anywhere.

    So, no definite answer as yet. I'll keep an eye on the thread...
     
  22. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'd be amazed if it was 720p considering they have already frame-limited the game to 30fps. My US copy shipped today though! :D

    Neil.
     
  23. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +96
    Neil, where did you get your US copy from and how long do they usually take to deliver? I have it on order from ImportMadness, but I still haven't received Amped2 or Rainbow Six 3, so I am really disappointed in their delivery times.
     
  24. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    www.dvdboxoffice.com and I also use www.therage.com both are usually quick to ship although dvdboxoffice uses normal post which can take about a week, but the advantage is that its free! So for PGR2 US I pay about 28quid.

    Neil.
     
  25. wiped

    wiped
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...