1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

progressive scan

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by -Jay-, Jul 30, 2002.

  1. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    looking to buy a tv&dvd do both have to be progressive scan.to get progressive scan.
     
  2. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    You will need a souce and Display device with Component inputs.

    The source device (the DVD for example) should be able to output Prog Scan in whichever flavour is required (NTSC,PAL or Both...which is what I want and is a tad difficult to acheive at this point).

    The TV just needs to be able to accept the Prog Scan signal via Compnoent connections, it does not need to do the processing itself.

    Just to through some more complexities, some TV's such as some Sony's etc do Digital Processing on 100Hz sets which give similar results to Prog Scan...................
     
  3. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Panasonic have just released a new TV with component inputs which supports both PAL and NTSC prog scan...wow!!!!;)

    32PS40 is the model number I think...

    Check out the latest copy of What Hifi for a top review...

    JJ
     
  4. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Panasonic TX-32PH40
     
  5. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    You will need a souce and Display device with Component inputs.

    Component inputs are NOT sufficient, you need a PS capable component input at the display!

    The TV just needs to be able to accept the Prog Scan signal via Compnoent connections, it does not need to do the processing itself.

    That is correct. :)
     
  6. ricdiggle

    ricdiggle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Odd though,
    The panasonic accepts both NTSC and PAL prog from my Denon 2800 but still puts itself into prog scan mode.
    This seems very odd to me. The Denon is outputting prog scan and the panasonic is converting it again before displaying it.

    It clearly says progressive input and progressive scan mode.

    Maybe this is why my tv broke after 8 days?
     

Share This Page

Loading...