1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive Scan question from a newbie

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by snakeeater, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. snakeeater

    snakeeater
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will soon have everything hooked up to my panny 6 via the JS Tech RGB to VGA box.

    Basically does this mean that I will then have a progressive scan picture from my Sony DVD player?

    Im not sure if my Sony DVD player outputs progressive scan but I read somewhere that the picture can be de-interlaced by the plasma rather than the DVD player??

    Or have I got it all wrong?? :lease:

    If its the case that I need a DVD player that specifically outputs a progressive scan signal, could anyone suggest links to any recommended DVD players that are reasonably priced?

    Sorry if my questions sound stupid, but Im taking this home cinema thing one step at a time and there seems to be quite a lot to learn :(
     
  2. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +67
    RGB-2-VGA converter does not de-interlace the picture, it remains interlaced RGB. The convertor separates out the synch signals, giving the plasma a better quality signal to chew on. The internal de-interlacer in the plasma then converts the picture into prog-scan.

    There are loads of DVD players with prog-scan these days. If you are looking to improve over the internal de-interlacer on the plasma, then stay away from budget models. Try posting over on the DVD forum, stating that you are looking for a PS DVD and what your budget range is.
     
  3. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    RGB-2-VGA converter also removes Macrovision, that also helps PQ
    SCART sync is usually 0.3v combined H/V after the converter it's
    about 1v-2v with independant H and V sync signals
     
  4. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Can someone translate for the hard-of-understanding? :blush:

    Zed
     
  5. snakeeater

    snakeeater
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay next question LOL

    If i bought a new DVD player that was progressive scan capable, would I get a progressive scan picture using the RGB to plasma VGA box from JS Tech?

    Or would the only way to get progressive scan to be to use component cables?
     
  6. Merritt

    Merritt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't know of any DVD players that can output progressive scan via RGB SCART.. Actually, im not even sure its possible. With that in mind, you will only be able to do it with component outputs from the DVD player...

    Steve
     
  7. snakeeater

    snakeeater
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info Steve :smashin:
     
  8. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +67
    Macrovision is the system used on pre-recorded material (eg DVDs) to prevent copying. Display devices should be unaffected, but any attempt to record the picture results in a degraded and unstable picture. Not sure why removing MV would improve the PQ on a display device - I'll leave that to the experts.

    The horizontal (H) and vertical (V) synch signals tell the display how to map the picture onto the screen (in the very simplest sense). In an RGB scart signal, the H & V are combined and sent down one of the video signal wires. In VGA, the H & V are separated out and sent down there own dedicated wires. The voltage is also boosted, in the case of the RGB-2-VGA.

    HTH
     
  9. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thank you :thumbsup:
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Don't know where Dr. JS is, but I'm almost certain his VGA box does not remove macrovision, that would be illegal. There are 1 or 2 DVD's that can do prog scan RGB, even a budget one, it cropped up the other day. Wish I could remember. One or 2 upmarket ones have a VGA port, and of course there are a few DVI equipped naughty players too. So RGB prog scan exists in various forms. As mentioned above, there's little point in progressive scan on a real budget player, the plasma has a pretty reasonable on board deinterlacer. It's interesting to try with and without prog scan on budget players clients have, just to show them it's not the be all and end all. Frequently they prefer the interlaced output.
     
  11. wattsj

    wattsj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Sony DAV-s880 which connects via component cables into my Panny PWD6.

    The S880 is capable of playing progressive scan but I have it set to interlaced as I thought that was best (as mentioned above the Panny has a pretty good deinterlacer).

    Is this the best setting or should I set the S880 to progressive and 'somehow' disable the Panny's deinterlacer ? :confused:
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You don't have to do anything if you are using progressive input, it's automatic. You could try the progressive scan from the 880, see if you prefer it. It's the only way to find out which is best.
     

Share This Page

Loading...