1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive Scan Playback on Tosh 36ZP48/RD-XS32

Discussion in 'TVs' started by L00py^, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. L00py^

    L00py^
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have just got a new 36ZP48 telly & RD-XS32 DVD recorder/player and was after some help please. If I select progressive scan on the TV option menu then press the progressive scan button on the RDXS-32 remote control, and then play the DVD. How can you be 100% certain that the system is actually displaying progressive scan on playback on a DVD?
     
  2. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Some of the remote functions of the tv will not work when progressive is enabled.Digital scanning being one.
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    What "remote functions" won't work?
     
  4. L00py^

    L00py^
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeap thanks, I got it sorted now, progressive is via ext 4(component cables) if you have this setup you can not get an option to change the scan display type.
     
  5. Nivelo

    Nivelo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Yeah, as you stated, if you run Progressive on the XS32 you don't see an option to change the display type on the TV. I would be interested in whether you can see more flicker when selecting progressive than through the Active or Natural modes (especially on predominately light scenes).

    I have the same setup and the flicker is worse when using progressive scan when the scene being displayed is quite light.

    Andy
     
  6. L00py^

    L00py^
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well for example on Star Wars at the start when the text scrolls down, I get slight flickering on the text using scart, on component playback get no flickering at all.

    And also deffo improves the playback on component alot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...