Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

progressive scan on sony vpl-hs1 pj - cable needed

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by 2surreal, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. 2surreal

    2surreal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I've been using this pj happily for a couple of years now but I was thinking of upgrading my DVD player to one that will use progressive scan. However, I've discovered I need a SIC-HS20 cable to connect it to the pj, and they are about £80 which knocks things way out of my budget at the moment. I was wondering if there is an alternative cheaper version of the cable available, or if I'm stuck with having to buy the Sony one?

    Any advice appreciated

    cheers

    dave
     
  2. DisguisedCoot

    DisguisedCoot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    797
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +127
    HI

    I am also looking for the same cable, there was a thread on the forum which had the pinouts from the pj multi input but that was posted back in 2002. Not sure if the guy managed to make the DIY cable he wanted
     
  3. UEG

    UEG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +43
    I decided to leave the re-pinning of the supplied cable to someone who has the proper tools. He's going to open the supplied composite and audio cable up tomorrow and see what can be done to swap the wires over to let them take a component signal. He's confident that this can be done.

    Watch this space...
     
  4. DisguisedCoot

    DisguisedCoot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    797
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +127
    great news, i managed to get a component cable cheap from ebay- but i wouldt mind using the supplied composite cable and turning into a vga cable if this can be done?
     
  5. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +56
    I did have a spare one of these from back when I had my HS1



    If I can find it, you can have it for a fiver! ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice