1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive scan on PAL xbox?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by markyh, Feb 27, 2003.

  1. markyh

    markyh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I sent this emal to Xbox customer help,

    Hi
    I thinking of getting a new TV so i want to get the best for my xbox, i've
    heard Progressive scan TV's are the best for quality but i've also heard
    that pal xbox's dont support prog-scan, is this true? if it is how can i
    change it to support it. Prog-scan is the future and i'm a little
    dissapointed to hear xbox doesnt support it.. Any suggestions?
    thanks
    Mark..............


    They replied with this, dont really think it answers my question tho...
    Subject: Reply from Xbox Customer Care
    Thanks for contacting the Xbox Customer Care Team with your query.

    Games can potentially display at a resolution of 1080i if you are using an HDTV and the game you are playing both supports this resolution and is set to display it. Currently, however, all existing games support 480i, and do not yet support a higher resolution. Check your game manual for more information.
    DVD movies display at a maximum resolution of 480i. They do not display in 480p or higher. Xbox does not support progressive scan resolution for DVD movie playback.

    If you require further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
    Regards,
    Xbox Customer Care Team


    Can anyone help??????
    Cheers
    Mark...........

    P.S i've actually ordered a Tosh 36zt29b which is progressive scan, that doesnt mean that its a HDTV does it.. if it doesnt then surely xbox help should of known that we cant get them in the UK...
     
  2. peo

    peo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pal Xbox definately doesn't support progressive scan. The only options are :

    a) get a USA console, virtually all US Xbox games run in 480p

    b) get your Pal console chipped, there are various disks which you could then run to get progressive support.

    I have an NTSC Xbox, and in prog scan on a Panny plasma it looks awesome. However, I don't think any version of the Xbox will do prog scan DVD (although I wouldn't be surprised if someone has managed to get a chipped one to do it).

    Hope that helps. :)
     
  3. markyh

    markyh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers that does help,

    I'm finding it hard to find a place that delivers an Xbox component cable, theres loads of places in America that sell em, cant find any that deliver to the UK tho, and i dont think you can buy them in the UK..

    Do you know of anywhere?..
    thanks
    Mark...
     
  4. markyh

    markyh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please ignore the last message, i've just read the Sticky FAQ, (prog scan) etc...

    Mark.............
     
  5. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you are thinking about a component cable get the offical xbox version, i got one from Game & when in prog scan i got a ghosting image.
     
  6. markyh

    markyh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that,, i was thinking about getting the Monster game link one, think there pretty good..
     
  7. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'd be interested to know if it is the Game cable itself or the adapter that it attaches to that causes the ghosting.

    It might just be the cable; it would be interesting to replace that with a normal (but good quality) component cable to test this theory out. I've got the Game adapter & cable, but as I have a recent and unchipped Xbox (for the moment), I can't test this myself......
     
  8. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    I used the Game cable's first then replaced them with qed, costing £100, cables that i use with my dvd player & it still had the ghosting.
     
  9. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    That's pretty conclusive!

    Cheers.
     
  10. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I think it was a faulty adaptor, I used the gamster adapter without these issues.

    Neil.
     

Share This Page

Loading...