1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive Scan ? help

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Pantzoid, Jul 18, 2005.

  1. Pantzoid

    Pantzoid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im toying with buying an Infocus projector.... probably the X1 or X2.... maybe at a severe push... an X3. The X1 is old but still of interest because it uses the Faroudja processor. Trouble is, I don't know what benefit this delivers. I've read that the X2 is cool as long as you use progressive scan sources... but what does that mean? I'd be looking to stick my PC through it and my consoles Xbox/ps2 through on S-video... Are these progressive or interlaced sources... Or am I getting this all wrong.

    Any expert guidance to unlock the mysteries of what progressive scan means to a buyer of these machines would be most appreciated.
     
  2. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    I think only the X1 has the Faroudja scaler. The others don't. You can't buy a brand new X1 now.

    You'd need to go second hand.

    Also. Make sure it's a X1 not a X1a cause that doesn't have the Faroudja scaler in it either.
     
  3. Pantzoid

    Pantzoid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah but how can I tell what type of sources I have.... Interlaced or progressive ?

    It looks like I might be able to pick up an X1 S/H but Im not sure I'll ever see any benefit from it. According to some reviews if I've got progressive sources it wouldnt matter whether it was an X1 or X2. I'd happily buy an X2 instead but am just concerned that the older one would have been the better choice.
     
  4. Darko

    Darko
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Caterham on the hill Surrey
    Ratings:
    +170
    I gather this is not for Movie projection???
     
  5. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    Progressive:-

    Component - progressive scan capable dvd player.
    VGA - from a computer.

    Interlace:-

    S-Vid - Sky / Cable box
    SCART - Sky / Cable box
    Composite - Sky / Cable box / VCR

    Hope that gives you a idea...
     
  6. Pantzoid

    Pantzoid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks ... that helps a lot. What would consoles output ?.... If I take a ps2 and Xbox through S video do they output an interlaced signal ?
     
  7. ian2k3

    ian2k3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes they do, you need a component cable for both machines, also most ps2 games dont support progressive so it wouldnt be a major improvement, but most xbox games are progressive.

    heres a list of progressive ps2 games

    http://www.hdtvpub.com/productdb/ga...solution&daStartRow=1&showRows=25&searched=do
     
  8. Pantzoid

    Pantzoid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the Movie thing.... I'd hope to use it multi purpose... I dont intend to be using it as a dedicated home theatre projector but I expect I'll use it for movies occasionally.

    Why do you ask Darko ? Is it a poor projector for movies ?
     
  9. Pantzoid

    Pantzoid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok.... I've gone and done it and landed myself with an X2.... but don't worry, I'm aware of it's shortcomings... however... I do have another question for any real tech minds out there. As I understand it, the X2 doesnt handle non-progressive sources that well. If I wanted to stick my sky box through it I suppose that would not look it's best due to the interlaced signal. What I was curious about was... since I'm stuffing my newly aquired X2 through my pc, would taking tv input through a TV card and then to the pj Via PC provide any better picture for me. Or would that be just an exercise in over elaborate time wasting ?

    I know this might all be standard knowledge for you guys and since I'm new to all this I really appreciate the feedback I've had... Extremely helpful.. thanks.
     
  10. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    tv card -> PC -> dscaler ->dvi out

    will give you a fantastic picture.

    And dscaler is free too :)
     
  11. Pantzoid

    Pantzoid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks dudes..

    Now just to find a decent TV card make...
     
  12. mrm3

    mrm3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cobham
    Ratings:
    +94
    nebula
     
  13. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For taking a sky signal you'll need an analogue card (rather than DVB-T/digital/freeview). Most analogue cards will only accept a composite or s-video input from a set top box like sky. However an RGB scart signal will be much better, most people use a sweetspot card ( http://www.pluggedin.tv/sweetspot/ ), and then, as cyber says, feed it into dscaler.
     
  14. darkbluesky

    darkbluesky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, but I don't understand: if a device has only composite and s-vhs outputs, and therefore are interlaced, what interest has a pc-card with component input?, if i had component output in the device I'll put them directly to the projector?? or I'm missing something?

    Maybe there are component outputs which are interlaced, and others component outputs which are progressive, and therefore you are talking about the "component interlaced" ones... :confused:

    Tx
     
  15. Lucas

    Lucas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If a device has composite and svideo outputs only then this card is of no use.

    However, if the device has SCART RGB or component output(interlaced or progressive)
    then it means you can capture a much higher quality signal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...