1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

progressive scan dvd for PTAE100

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kim@cheung1957., Apr 8, 2003.

  1. kim@cheung1957.

    kim@cheung1957.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What best deal prog. scan dvd player for the PTAE100? Thanks!!!
     
  2. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    The biggest bargain has to be the Limit from Richer Sounds.

    PAL/NTSC progressive and DVD-A for £150 :D

    -- Jon
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Moved to more appropriate forum.
     
  4. kim@cheung1957.

    kim@cheung1957.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your help. The price is too good to be believed. May i ask where can i get a review of the Limit. Does it the quality trustworthy!. Once more, someone recommend the Toshiba SD520. Anyone gets me some ideas? Thaqnks again.
     
  5. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    People have noted that the Limit is a cheap player, and it shows. The internals are fine, but the drive door has been known to fall off, IMHO it feels cheap when you use it (rough edges on alloy buttons).

    Consider Philips 963sa (£308). (PAL & NTSC prog scan, SACD)

    Tosh 520 only does NTSC progressive scan.

    There's another player that I forget that does PAL and NTSC prog scan at about £400, anyone?
     
  6. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,302
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,016
    Harmon Kardon DVD25 is around £300 now and does PAL and NTSC prog-scan. I've not seen it though.

    The Toshiba SD520e gives a better picture than the Limit, but as has already been said, only does NTSC prog-scan. I wouldn't recommend the Philips 963 until the issues are sorted - the SD520 gives a better picture imho anyway.

    HTH

    Gary.
     
  7. kim@cheung1957.

    kim@cheung1957.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys!! It seems to be the best is heading for the H/K DVD25. One more question- my existing dvd player is Pioneer 626D with the Yahama 630 model, does the replacement for the H/K dvd 25 gives a great improvement with the ptae100. Or any other suggestions? My budget is under £400. Thanks.
     
  8. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've had the DVD25 demoed on the PTAE100 using the Component connections when I was deciding between projector / plasma and I was very impressed with the results. I've now got the DVD25 with my Plasma and am very happy with it! :)
     
  9. dean randle

    dean randle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK (Bromley)
    Ratings:
    +6
  10. Lare

    Lare
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    do note that HK25 doesn't have a good deinterlacer as Faroudja is. The Philips 963 does have a new Faroudja chip and also some Skyworth's models have it.
    Faroudja DCDI benefits when the progressive flags are not perfectly made, and this is often the case. Also several other technical issues (like combing in example) are handled by the deinterlacers, and the results differ.

    I liked this article:
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=242002
     
  11. Andyclockwise

    Andyclockwise
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have today bought a Limit 9900SE from Richer Sounds playing Proscan through my PTAE100 and the results are excellent. Thanks to this posting for alerting me to the Limit. An excellent machine for the money.
     
  12. kim@cheung1957.

    kim@cheung1957.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice to hear that the Limit 9900SE gives a good result on ptae100. How about the audio section, does it sound s well. One more wants to know, now i am using svhs cable for my ptae100 . To get the progressive result, does component cable must use for it? Thanks.
     
  13. Andyclockwise

    Andyclockwise
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +13
    Yes you will need component cable for progressive scan. Its not cheap - but I got a good price from Sound and Vision in Bolton £69 for 5m of gold plated plugs etc. You can pay a lot more but I suspect the law of diminishing returns starts to bite heavily once you get over a certain price level.
     
  14. Andyclockwise

    Andyclockwise
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +13
    Sorry, forgot to answer about the audio. It sounds fine to me - I am playing it through a Naim Nait 2 amp into Royd Eden speakers and they are quite revealing. I watched David Gilmour in concert DVD last night and I was blown away by the sound and picture quality - the picture is astounding, as good as the picture on a TV except several times bigger.
     
  15. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    Ive got the asian philips Q50 and it has a very good picture with reasonable price does ntsc and pal progressive. On my 32 inch dist tv from jvc it has a cinema like picture that really strikes you.

    not bad for the price I paid. very happy with it. although now the 963sa is suppose to have slightly better picture due to the chip of faroudja.
     
  16. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm also in the same boat.

    I'm considering the Limit 9900, Toshiba 520, Harman Kardon 25 but not the Philips 963.

    I had a 963 for a week and returned it. The picture was poor.

    Do any of the above players have 3:2 pulldown detection???

    I'd like PAL and NTSC Prog Scan but I mainly own NTSC discs.

    I see Tosh are launching a new range of players, what will the Tosh 520 be replaced by????
     
  17. kim@cheung1957.

    kim@cheung1957.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Ready to go for this low budget Limit9900. If the picture and sound works better than my Pioneer 626, i will put it as the main source for dvds. Ah!! Where does this product Limit comes from.... China, Asia or Europe.... Pl tell.
     
  18. Andyclockwise

    Andyclockwise
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +13
    According to the man in Richer Sounds they come from Belgium.
     
  19. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +218
    Its a route of hassle but you could get an xbox. Their about £130 now rrp so discounted probably £120 if you look hard enough. A cheapmod is about £12 all in and a component cable from dvdbox office in canada is less than £20 delivered. This also includes high quality component cables (gold plated). Then various downloadable software apps installed to the hard drive will give you progressive scan as well as divx playback and a mass of other formats including a few games ;-). You don't need the dvd remote dongle for this. I'm sure updated software will come along that will enable more features and options.

    However the best option for the PTAE100 would be a basic pc made up from various components. Probably cost in the region of £250 though but would give by far the best results and versatility.
     
  20. Andyclockwise

    Andyclockwise
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +13
    Interesting bonzo, as someone who has built a few home PCs this appeals. Do you have any suggestions as to the best place to find out more information on what components to use. I tried searching PC in this forum but its too short a word.
     
  21. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    Search for "hcpc"
    And there is a forum for it here.
     
  22. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    No-one seems to have mentioned the Marantz DV4300 which does pal prog out of the box for about £229. I'm pretty interested in this one as it's very slimline and so should fit on top of my dvd recorder in my AV unit, but no-one seems to have reviewed it.

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  23. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    The X-box solution sounds very interesting. Does it have remote control? What's the picture and sound like? I take it it does DD5.1?

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...