1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive scan compatible RPTV:s?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Tomas L, Jan 24, 2002.

  1. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    Are there any PAL progressive scan compatible RPTV:s in the European market? I have heard that Toshibas TV:s are NTSC progressive scan compatible. The new Samsung 47" crt-RPTV has Y-Pb-Pr component inputs....?

    I would like to use a Iscan Pro with a RPTV to get rid of those annoying jaggies, especially on NTSC DVD:s but also on PAL DVD:s.
     
  2. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    OK, I give up! At least on PAL....I guess we have to wait for the next generation of tabletop DLP-RPTVs from LG, Samsung and others.

    But will any CRT RPTV accept P/S NTSC?
     
  3. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,935
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,668
    I don't think there are any at all - PAL or NTSC. Do a search for previous posts.
     
  4. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks Spectre. I have searched old threads, but sometime (or rather anytime soon) a new rptv will be released that accepts P/S on both NTSC an PAL. The new DLP RPTVs that were shown at CES last month will probably do that and they also have a VGA input! They use the new HD2 (1280 x 720) DLP-chip.
    LG has announced that they will release thier models in the UK later this year...here is a picture of the LG (Zenith in the US) DLP RPTV from CES:

    [​IMG]

    You can find tons of images from ces in this library: http://www.cinenow.com/images-now/CES2002/
     
  5. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    I just got an email from Toshiba Sweden: (from thier "Chief Service manager")


    That means that the WH18 models accepts a progressive scan (NTSC) input, and why wouldn't they since Toshibas SD900E and SD510E dvd-players outputs P/S on NTSC (reg. 2) material?

    Some might argue that there are no (?) NTSC reg. 2 DVDs around, but software is not a problem if the players are made region-free.

    Needs to be confirmed though.
     
  6. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hi,

    I spent a while asking around as well, for the Wh18Bs.

    This was what I got back from Tosh in the UK -

    --------------------------------
    Thank you for your recent enquiry. Please find the information that you
    requested as follows:

    The television will not accept progressive scan and thus shouldnot show the
    picture correctly
    ---------------------------------

    But Link in Peterborough have tested this and say it does work. They are awaiting more Tosh 42wh18bs to be delivered, and will apparently demo it.

    I gave up and have now decided on a front projector!
    Cheers.
     
  7. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks Bonesy! I choose to believe Link rather than Toshiba since they have tested it. Do you know how they tested? What DVD-player did they use?

    "Technical support" ppl can give the strangest answers. I asked Samsung i Sweden if the new 47" rptv would accept P/S. They answered: "The TV has Natural Scan". Oki then...
     
  8. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Tomas,

    Link are very friendly and helpful. Their website is linkonline.com I think, although the people in the shop part are more knowledgeable on this than the website ppl.

    They told me they tested it with the Sony 9000 (is that the right number?) and the Tosh 9000, both running Prog Scan, to the 42wh18B.

    Actually they say they prefer the sony44PS2 to the tosh even whith prog scan.

    When I was last in the shop, they still had the sony on display, and -whilst they were running the Sony demo DVD- I must admit it was the best picture I've ever seen on an RPTV.

    I will be in Peterborough in a couple of weeks, and will pop into the shop. If they have the Tosh in stock, I'll get a demo with prog scan and post my views.

    Cheers.
     
  9. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    I might soon also post a review...I am very close to ordering a 42" or 50" Toshiba. I just can't decide what size that is right for me. "I'll be back."

    I've seen the Sony PS2, both the 44" and the 51" version, and I have too say that I am not too impressed. But I have only seen it showing broadcast material, never DVD. Skincolor didn't look natural on the Sony, kinda hard and digital. The Thomson next to it wasn't as sharp, but the picture looked far more natural.
     
  10. JoeJoe

    JoeJoe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Progressive Scan PAL is not around yet. They are still arguing about copyright etc. so no players will output a PAL progressive scan signal.
     
  11. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Progressive Scan PAL signals have been around for years. There are many here who use them regularly. What is not available is PAL PS from DVD player with the regulatory forum saying okay. However there are several DVD players that can do this and one even takes an analogue signal in as well (though it is an add on board!).
     
  12. JoeJoe

    JoeJoe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's is what I said, wasn't it?
     
  13. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Not quite;)

    Most dealers here in the UK will 'hack' players if you push them however many customers don't ask simply because they don't know it is possible. Everywhere they look they are told that PAL progressive scan isn't available.
     
  14. JoeJoe

    JoeJoe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see, very interesting.
    Mind you, I'm buying the KP44PS2 which doesn't have composite connections which I believe is required to accept a PS signal.
     
  15. S.G.A

    S.G.A
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to know how Bonesy and anyone else gets on with LINK and progressive scan to the 42WH18B
    I have tried this from a Pioneer 737 and it does not work for me. It does exactly as Toshiba says...It does not show a picture.:(
     
  16. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    I just got an email from Toshiba Sweden and they say that the xxwh18 series has a internal line-doubler!? I have never heard this before, I talked to a dealer also and he said that the Toshibas has the same type of line-doubler as Loewe.

    But it's strange that Toshiba has "forgotten" to mention this internal line-doubler in their marketing!

    Toshiba Sweden also say that a external P/S signal will not work.... :(
     
  17. S.G.A

    S.G.A
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I phoned LINK to get their view on this subject.
    They say that they had been using progressive scan from a pioneer 737 onto a 36 inch CRT television (can't remember which one) and this worked fine.
    They cannot get progressive scan onto the Tosh 42WH18B as being discussed as it does not support this facility.
    Any one with any other views?
     
  18. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Hope it is the new Tosh 36 incher;)
     
  19. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    It's probably the Tosh, I don't know any other 36" TV that has component inputs.(?) Anyway, I have just ordered a 50" Toshiba, 50WH18. Instead of upgrading my DVD-player I decided to buy the 50" (I was originally looking at the 42" + Pioneer 747)
     
  20. Ludae

    Ludae
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All 100Hz TVs that have anything beyond a basic repeat field 100Hz mode will include a de-interlacer (line-doubler), but the output will be re-interlaced to 100Hz.
     
  21. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +937
    What will happen if you feed a progressive scan signal to a 100hz tv?

    No picture, some picture??
     
  22. oreoboy13

    oreoboy13
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would it be possible to modify the Tosh , to accept a PS input
     
  23. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    From what I understand, NO picture. I don't think it would be possible to modify it to accept P/S input. Unless you rebuild the TV with parts from the US model, HX81...
     
  24. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +937
    Is there a way of nobbling the output so its not re-interlaced??
     
  25. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    OK, this is not my area of expertice, but i believe that the electronics (and the the tubes?) have to handle a scan frequency of at least 31.5 KHz.

    US models have that capability, European models don't....
     
  26. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +937
    Thanks for the info, it was just something that crossed my mind!!

    cheers
     
  27. Ludae

    Ludae
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    100Hz TVs use double the standard scan rate also, just not progressive scan.
     
  28. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    ...so it could work then? If you could "bypass" the 100 Hz...thing?
     
  29. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Tomas L, hope I haven't misled you into getting the Tosh on the basis of it doing prog scan, but I'm sure it will be a great TV even if it doesn't.

    SGA, I gave up waiting for Link to prove it to me, and had too much doubt with everyone else telling me the Tosh's wouldn't do it.

    The Panny AE100 proj arrived on the scene for £1400, and took my mind away from RPTVs, although as I haven't seen one, it may be a costly mistake for me.

    Cheers.
     
  30. Tomas L

    Tomas L
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11
    Bonesy: Don't worry, I bought my 50WH18 after Toshiba Sweden had given me their final answer: "No it doesn't accept PS input".
    I have cancelled the Pioneer 747 though...no need for it any longer. I'm looking at the Sony NS900 instead, if it only could play MP3 too! (I like the build-quality, "built like a tank" compared to Toshiba 510E)
     

Share This Page

Loading...