1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive scan clarifications

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by SimonMW, Jul 17, 2005.

1. SimonMW

SimonMW

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I've been reading a few comments about progressive scan and deinterlacing I'd like to try and clarify, as well as trying to find out some more technical information so that I can see if there are any differences between DVD players and televisions. Some people appear to be confusing deinterlacing with true progressive scan and are using the terms interchangably.

As I understand it, from my own work in video (I'm a professional cameraman and editor as my day job) a DVD can be encoded as either interlaced or as progressive scan. Now lets take some of my own footage as an example.

I usually shoot in true 25 fps progressive scan for many projects I produce. This means that the camera is recording the full 576 lines. When I edit, because the signal is recorded to an interlaced format (PAL), but with both fields carrying information from the same frame, I need to tell my software I am using progressive footage. Then, when I encode the final DVD I need to specify to the MPEG2 encoder that I am using progressive scan footage. This way I keep the absolute full resolution of the progressive scan picture. Many commercial film DVDs are also encoded in true progressive scan.

This means that when you use these DVD's on a progressive scan DVD player they simply output the full progressive signal through component for example. There should be NO deinterlacing taking place whatsoever, contrary to what has been said in other threads.