1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive scan an ps2 v9

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Beer, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. Beer

    Beer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone tried this feature yet? Any impresions? Does it support both NTSC and PAL prog scan?

    if all this is true, than this new silver ps2 is realy worth geting, cause it looks realy cool too :zonked:
     
  2. daveymacca

    daveymacca
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's no prog scan function on the PAL model V9 when running DVD Movies, it's only a feature on NTSC model.
     
  3. Beer

    Beer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, but in the specs of pal console they say it has prog scan...
    what about moded pal console and ntsc dvd discs?
     
  4. phenom2003

    phenom2003
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does do NTSC proggresive, but not PAL, all PS2 consoles can do ntsc prog scan in games, but the new one does it for DVD playback aswell.

    Rich
     
  5. Beer

    Beer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so has anyone tried dvd prog scan mode on new ps2? Does it look much better than standart, cause standart ps2 dvd playback is no good at all :(
     
  6. daveymacca

    daveymacca
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DVD Playback quality is exactly the same as other versions IMO, the main advantage of the V9 is it's so quiet, you can't hear a peep out of it during DVD playback. RGB DVD Playback is still bloody green as well.As regard to progressive scan my DVD player is set up for prog scan and it's very difficult to spot the difference between that and interlaced unless you have a massive display.On the other hand prog scan on games looks far superior to an RGB image. The PAL PS2 allows prog scan on PAL games,not just NTSC.
     
  7. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +282
    In your opinion whats a massive display? Im prolly getting one soon buy would like more feedback on the NTSC PS dvd playback.
     
  8. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Can we please clear something up as I am confused.
    With the new PS2 can ALL games be output using PAL PROGRESSIVE. If so, then how do you enable this?

    Thanks Azzo.
     
  9. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +282
    As far as Im aware the only PAL prog scan game is The Getaway. Im sure there must have been more released since though.

    In answer to your question the new PS2 doesnt output PAL prog scan in games unles the game allows you to select this option. Basicaly its a software solution, not hardware. I dont know about movies though :s
     
  10. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    there also tekken 4 that does prog scan i think
     
  11. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    neither of which work on the PAL version. I get garbage on both of them with my displays
     
  12. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +282
    What display are you using for PAL Prog Scan Neil?
     
  13. phenom2003

    phenom2003
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    None of them do pal prog scan, it's just NTSC, just because it's in a pal game doesn't make it pal proggresive. Never heard of problems with proggresive display from ps2's, another reason to get a modded XBox for 1080i output eh:D
     
  14. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    panny 5 and 6 plasma [which both take a PAL progressive signal but scale down].

    Neil.
     
  15. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +282
    @phenom2003

    r u sure its NTSC PS on the PAL versions of T4 and The getaway?

    I have tried both import copies of said titles and prog scan works fine, however PAL Getaway PS was messed up on my display too. (I thought that was because it was a PAL signal as I can only accept NTSC PS through 36" Tosh)
     

Share This Page

Loading...