Progressive question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sefton, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. sefton

    sefton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I buy a dvd recorder with progressive output will any signal ie normal tv be made progressive or does it just apply to disks?

    I have freeview and was wondering if I could use the progressive output from a dvd player to increase the quality.

    Thanks
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,676
    Yes you can use progressive scan capable DVD recorders (Toshiba, Panasonic, JVC) to output any source progressively.
     
  3. sefton

    sefton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fantastic :thumbsup:

    Are there any differences in the quality of progressive scan or are they all the same?
     
  4. PHOBIC ®

    PHOBIC ®
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hmm..interesting. I'd heard that to make use of Prog scan DVD recorders like my XS32, i would need a TV with Prog scan capability.

    Nice to know !
     
  5. Jever

    Jever
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your device must have Prog scan capability, not alot of ordinary TV´s support progressive scan yet.
    But LCD/PLASMA televisions support progressive scan.
     
  6. albany

    albany
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you are saying that you could hook up a cable box to the DVD via Scart and then output via component to a progressive capable monitor?

    Great if you can, but I thought the video signal was different. Interlaced or de-interlaced, summat like that, don't ask me I'm new to all this.
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,676
    You do - your TV has to be progressive scan compatiible to use a progressive scan output.

    Yes - the recorder acts as a converter. It (obviously) has to be 'on' for this to work.
     
  8. PHOBIC ®

    PHOBIC ®
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Ras - i almost thought then for second that i was going to get away with upgrading my ageing Hitachi TV
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice