Progressive question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sefton, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. sefton

    sefton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I buy a dvd recorder with progressive output will any signal ie normal tv be made progressive or does it just apply to disks?

    I have freeview and was wondering if I could use the progressive output from a dvd player to increase the quality.

    Thanks
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Yes you can use progressive scan capable DVD recorders (Toshiba, Panasonic, JVC) to output any source progressively.
     
  3. sefton

    sefton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fantastic :thumbsup:

    Are there any differences in the quality of progressive scan or are they all the same?
     
  4. PHOBIC ®

    PHOBIC ®
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hmm..interesting. I'd heard that to make use of Prog scan DVD recorders like my XS32, i would need a TV with Prog scan capability.

    Nice to know !
     
  5. Jever

    Jever
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your device must have Prog scan capability, not alot of ordinary TV´s support progressive scan yet.
    But LCD/PLASMA televisions support progressive scan.
     
  6. albany

    albany
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you are saying that you could hook up a cable box to the DVD via Scart and then output via component to a progressive capable monitor?

    Great if you can, but I thought the video signal was different. Interlaced or de-interlaced, summat like that, don't ask me I'm new to all this.
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    You do - your TV has to be progressive scan compatiible to use a progressive scan output.

    Yes - the recorder acts as a converter. It (obviously) has to be 'on' for this to work.
     
  8. PHOBIC ®

    PHOBIC ®
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Ras - i almost thought then for second that i was going to get away with upgrading my ageing Hitachi TV
     

Share This Page

Loading...