1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Progressive audio delay;what range is needed?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by nathan_silly, Jul 8, 2003.

  1. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know using a display in progressive incurs a delay whilst the image is being processed.

    However what is the +/- delay needed? - does one Plasma screen take xx ms and other one needs xxx ms?

    I have the ability to delay 60ms.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    Yes different video processors require different amounts of delay.

    In my experience with 60ms you have enough. Some processors actually introduce over 100ms but with 60 I am sure you will have the bases covered.

    Gordon
     
  3. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Gordon,

    As a relative newbie here I hesitate to take issue with you, but...;) Using pal progressive from a Denon 2800MkII into a Panasonic PW4 some discs need as much as 120ms delay to sort the lip sync. Even Sky+ needs more than 80ms though it varies channel by channel. 60ms would not be enough here.

    Piers
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    Piers,

    I think I pointed out that in some cases over 100ms delay is induced. What I said is that even although this is the case in my experience I've never had to go above 60ms to make it not noticeable.........

    I watch Sky channels and my DVD's through a scaler and have NO lip sync delay added. Horses for courses.

    No one shoudl be concerned with taking issue with me. I want to learn too.

    Gorodn

    Gordon
     
  5. siluro

    siluro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Original "Garden City"
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would go with gordon on this one, when i used my NEC plasma and 88+ together the delay is set to 50ms (preset by arcan) and you didnt notice any real problems other than bad disks (if i remeber right fast and furious is slightly out anyway). But as gordon said difrent processing takes difrent times and i would asume internal chipsets would need less delay than eternals boxs.

    just my 2 pence worth tho
    lee
     
  6. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So some DVD players have digital audio delay function?

    That (selectable?) plus my 60ms on the MC-1 should give me more adjustablility on the final delay.

    Ta
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
  8. siluro

    siluro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Original "Garden City"
    Ratings:
    +1
    nice one gordon, i had seen a extra delay feature in the menus but thats whats its for:smashin: , i though i was just somthing to do with the DVD-A thing going on.

    Naihan, as far as i know, and i could be wrong but arcam are the only ones to do a delay feature (even the preset on the 88+), but just a 88 with a sil board should give ajustable delay as gordon says. I think the main reason for this is arcam players are Macro certified on pal pro.
     

Share This Page

Loading...