1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Programme to convert Audio CD to MP3

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by roystonb, Sep 24, 2005.

1. roystonb

roystonb
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I’m very new to MP3, but was hoping that you might help me with a problem of sorts.

I have a number of audio CD’s that I wish to convert to MP3, and place them onto one MP3 CD. (I hope that makes sense :rolleyes: ). It will save me carrying several discs in the car.

Can you suggest what programmes I will need buy in order to do that?

Also are MP3 files a lot smaller than Audio CD files?

Any other help would be most appreciated.

Thanks, Royston :thumbsup:

2. paulrwebster

paulrwebster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    ITunes does it and is free. Yot will get a lot more on the CD in this format, however you will only be able to play them in the car if the CD player supports MP3's.

3. shadowritten

shadowritten

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm guessing you're a PC user? If you look in the settings in Windows Media Player (you can download the latest version 10 from Microsoft's site for free), you'll find it'll let you create MP3s, which can be played in some car stereos - check the manual of yours for details. If you have Windows XP, there's a function within it to let you create a DATA CD, rather than an audio one, which will put all your MP3s onto a CD effortlessly.

Good luck. :smashin:

4. Chris_J_0907

Chris_J_0907

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    All depends what rate you encode at too. IIRC a 128k encoded mp3 track is 4mb on average, so you can roughly get 175 tracks on a 700mb CD.