Programe guides for the HXD 870 Sony recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Jaysto, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. Jaysto

    Jaysto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,
    Having set up the above recorder I have the Guide Plus+system which I use for selecting a programe to record. On page 53 of the manual there is another EPG System for recording programes (Timer Recording (Standard /EPG) Can anyone tell me how I can install it.
    Thank you
    Jack Stoddart
     
  2. banchang

    banchang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    Also interested to know which of these two are better.

    While Guide+ gives you the EPG, it is visually unattractive, & not very flexible eg you cannot move your favourite channels to the top of the first page
     
  3. ramjet

    ramjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +622
    there are 2 epg facilities on the recorder

    guideplus as you are already using

    and the other is the freeview digital epg on freeview terrestrial channels ( the one I use )

    you can use one or the other , but not both

    so you would have to select the freeview epg if you want to use it , meaning you will lose guideplus and so will also lose any other abilities like controlling sky or virgin etc

    ie:- you cannot have your cake and eat it , its one or the other
     
  4. Jaysto

    Jaysto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to try the Standard EPG and be able to see the boxes as shown on page 54 of the manual. How do I access those pages. When i press timer on the remote I do not see the pages 54 to 62.:nono: What am i doing wrong?
    jaysto
     
  5. BillTheButcher

    BillTheButcher
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    My 1070 asked me during initial setup which guide type I wanted to use.

    You can also change it manually after the recorder has been setup. It's on page 129-130 of the manual:
    1. Press SYSTEM MENU while the recorder is in stop mode.
    2. Select "Initial Setup" and press ENTER.
    3. Select "Basic" and press ENTER.
    4. Select "EPG Type Select".
    5. Select "Guide (Digital)".

    HTH. :smashin:
     
  6. Zaphod_B

    Zaphod_B
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Up North (well North of Watford anyway)
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi Jaysto

    When you have installed both EPG's, you can then "flip" between them using the "INPUT" button of the remote (top rhs) under the "Prog + / -" button.

    The Sony will then cycle Line 1 > Line 2 > Analog TV > Digital TV > Line 1, etc

    When you are set to Analog TV as the input, you can use Guide+ to select either an analog or digital station and the recorder will switch accordingly.

    Eg watching BBC1 (analog). Press "Guide" and select Sky 3 (a digital channel). Recorder will switch to Sky 3.

    If watching a digital channel, say Sky 3 and you press "Guide" and select BBC1, it will give you the digital BBC1 channel (ie Freeview).

    Zaph
     
  7. Jaysto

    Jaysto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Zaph,
    i shall give your instructions a try. Will I have to install the freeview guides or will they have been installed when i did the initial set up.
    Thank you for your help
    Jack
     
  8. ramjet

    ramjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +622
    digital freeview epg is populated after you have set it up , from the programmes coming down your aerial , and can take up to a day to populate , and updates daily

    the guideplus can either populate from itv on analogue or eurosport on sky , and again can take up to a day to populate
     
  9. stevep999

    stevep999
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What' sthe general concesus for guides?
    Main differences I can see are

    Guideplus - no series link, but has sky and sky control
    Freeview - series link, no sky control or channels

    Guideplus seems to have a lot of gaps though with channels
     
  10. Jaysto

    Jaysto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to all for your helpfull advice.
    Jack Stoddart
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice