1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

prog scan through reciever ?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by spk, Jan 31, 2005.

  1. spk

    spk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

    i'm currently looking at purchasing a component input/prog scan crt and am thinking of updating my reciever for one that does up conversion to component. this would mean i could route all video through the reciever to obtain the benefit of component for all sources, (yes ?). as the crt's im looking at have only one set of comp inputs this leaves me with a couple of questions.

    i) if i connected the dvd to the reciever via comp in and, i'm outputting a prog scan signal from my dvd player would it still arrive at the tv in prog scan through the recievers comp out ?.

    ii) the most likely source of up conversion would be the yam 750, which although i hear isn't the best up converter does fall nicely into my budget. or is there another way of achieving it for around the same cash for better results ?.


    thanks,

    spk
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    It probably depends on the make and model but generally I would say yes.
     
  3. spk

    spk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks and, appologies for the ommited peice of information. the dvd is a pioneer 575a.

    spk
     
  4. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    No worries, I actually meant the make and model of the AV amp/receiver. :)
     
  5. Barzo

    Barzo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +402
    I have a Yamaha 750SE, and I use it to route the signal from my prog scan player (which used to be a Pioneer 575 and is now a Panny S97) to my TV, along with an X-box (also connected component). I think the thing to look for is evidence that the component inputs and outputs are 'wideband' compatible - as far as I know the Marantz and Denon models at price equivalent also pass through prog scan component signals.

    Can't comment on the upconversion of the Yamaha, as I have not connected any other video sources - will have to wait until I do a 'spring clean' of the system, as it will mean hauling equipment off my AV rack and starting to connect it again from scratch.

    Hope this helps
     
  6. spk

    spk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks peeps :thumbsup:


    spk
     

Share This Page

Loading...