Prog Scan probs with Denon 2900

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by too_laid_back, Jul 8, 2003.

  1. too_laid_back

    too_laid_back
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guys...

    Was looking around for a Denon 2900... emailed a company for a quote.. who where more than happy to sell me one.. this is what i got back from them..

    A 2900, delivered, with full MR capability would cost you £750.

    However, there is a firmware issue with this machine at the moment - Denon's Multi-Region disc unfortunately disables PAL Progressive scan. Not ideal!

    We should be first to have a fix in about a week. All 2900s are affected - don't buy one now from anyone, even us!



    Is this true???..if so, what is the problem..can't seem to find anything about it.:confused:
     
  2. Jan_Assembler

    Jan_Assembler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would have found this info yourself searching this forum.:lesson:

    But here it goes:

    Current MR firmware disables pal progressive, but you enable it after with remote hack:

    1. Take out any discs you may have in the player.
    2. Turn off player. (On the player...don't use remote)
    3. Press buttons "STOP", "SUPER AUDIO CD SETUP" and "<<(FR)" all at the same time. Keep these buttons pressed and turn on the player.
    4. You'll see "LOADING" in the display. You can let go off the buttons now.
    5. Now you have 10 seconds to finish the procedure or you have to start from the beginning. The rest of the procedure is only possible while "LOADING' is being displayed.
    6. Press "SUPER AUDIO CD SETUP", "PAUSE" and "|<<(Skip Back)" in this order and hold these.
    7. You will see the "VSS Icon" flash in the display.
    8. Let go off the buttons and "0:00:00" will be displayed.
    9. Turn off the player. (On the player...don't use remote)

    When turning it back on PAL progressive will be enabled.



    :D
     
  3. thewall

    thewall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got a disc today and popped it in. It took about 20 seconds then it was multiregion. Did not take away prog pal. Only set everything to factory default.
     
  4. therecanbeonly1

    therecanbeonly1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Where do you get these discs?
     
  5. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    I ran the firmware upgrade on mine - like thewall says, took about 20 seconds. I was warned that it would remove PAL progressive and had already been given the instructions Jan listed, so I did them straight away after the firmware - I must admit, I didn't actually check to see if the upgrade had removed the PAL progressive, but it certainly works fine now! Great player BTW - really impressed - both NTSC and PAL progressive pictures look really nice and the audio side is fantastic! I had no idea how much of a difference a DVD player could make to the audio side of a HC setup, but this one certainly has! :clap:
     
  6. toonarmynufc

    toonarmynufc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    could i borrow your multi region disk
     
  7. Vorlon

    Vorlon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my Denon from Nexnix for £580+vat, seems to be ok and plays multiregion no problem. will check for prog scan issues tonight.

    Vorlon
     
  8. Warpaint

    Warpaint
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +61
    Have a look at this link

    http://www.afdigitale.it/edisport/a...5b1d0e52f86609a8c1256d5e004edbef?OpenDocument

    download the file PDH29VND.CPN
    burn the file on to a blank CD
    Open the DVD2900 drawer , insert the new disc, press close.
    The front display on the 2900 will show progress writing new firmware.
    When it is finished the drawer will open.
    Switch off main power switch. Switch on again and its done.
    Multi region and progressive scan works.
     
  9. therecanbeonly1

    therecanbeonly1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cool THX:clap:
     
  10. toonarmynufc

    toonarmynufc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks alot works 100% cheers:smashin:
     
  11. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Have just bought my 2900 and it should be arriving mext week :D

    I am keen to perform the multi-region firmware upgrade but am also a little concerned about what happens if something goes wrong.

    I notice several people have successfully performed the upgrade...has everything been okay since ?

    Also, can anyone provide a link to the un-moddified firmware just in case I should want to go back.

    Cheers, Lee
     

Share This Page

Loading...