processor upgrade

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by jelly, Jun 30, 2004.

  1. jelly

    jelly

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    thinking of upgredeing my processor from a 2800 barton xp to a 3200 barton can get the pro for 100 squid but is there any places that do a processor and memory bundle ????
     
  2. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,993
    why not save £100 and just buy the memory ? :)

    seems like a lot of cash to part with for a couple of hundered extra Mhz..
     
  3. jelly

    jelly

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    ???????????????
     
  4. Harry T

    Harry T
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with The Dude. There will only be a slight improvement in performance in that processor upgrade. Money probably would be better spend on just RAM.

    How much RAM do you currently have?

    Oh, and what OS and apps do you run?
     
  5. jelly

    jelly

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    512 ram and running xp
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,993
    is that 1x512mb stick?

    if it is, get another 512mb of the same speed, and run it in 'dual bank' configuration..

    you should see a noticeable improvement for very little cash..

    You've already got a very good CPU mate, the UG to a 3200 would be a waste of £s really, unless you have a specific issue where the 2800 isn't coping..
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice