Probs with RAM tosh DR-1

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ted26, Dec 1, 2004.

1. ted26

ted26

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    When i got my tosh recorder a week ago i also bought some panasonic RAM which are giving me a bit of grief.

If i record on a disc and leave it in the recorder overnight then turn recorder back on it doesn't recocnize the disc and says it may need cleaning !

I am new to this so any help on either coice of disc or if i am doing something wrong would be great :)

Oh forgot to mention that if i leave the recorder for 20 mins or so and then load the disc everthing is fine :confused:

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Sounds like it could be a dodgy unit - the DR1 is normally fine with Panasonic DVD-RAM. You could try formatting the DVD-RAMs on the Toshiba and see if that makes a difference.

3. ted26

ted26

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Just formatting the first one right now ras :)

Will report back if thats the problem in a few days when i have recorded again.

Do you mean the low level format that takes a couple of mins or the full 70 mins version ?

4. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    The quick one.

5. ted26

ted26

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well i could not get the tosh to read these discs on start up so i decided to rebox it and take it back to good old comet :eek:

This is where the fun started ! the lady behind the counter asked if i was trying to play copies in the machine :laugh:

Anyway they refused to do anything about the situation and told me to take it home and ring toshiba who said it was faulty and would collect it on monday :mad:

I cant believe for one minute that i have bought a faulty product and cant get my money back !