1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Prob's with DIY PC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Jed, Jan 25, 2003.

  1. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +34
    Having mega problems,with DIY PC.

    I had everything plugged in to their place's,crossed my finger's,flicked the switch and Wallar......Nowt.Not a light not a fan nowt.
    The only thing i hear when i put my ear to the PSU is a click when i switch it on.

    I have unplugged all nowt.Unplugged from the mobo nowt.

    Will a psu fan still turn,if not plugged in to the mobo.

    Please help.Digital pint's for any reply's:D

    Cheers Jed
     
  2. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    PSU is independent of mobo - Sounds like a dodgy PSU though :(
     
  3. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would have to disagree Lex. Just make sure that you have your power on switch on the right jumper on the motherboard Jed.
     
  4. elneckio

    elneckio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Standing on head
    Ratings:
    +0
    On ATX - No because the 'wakeup' goes through the main connection.

    To debug this problem... Remove everything except the PSU, MotherBoard, GFX Card, CPU & Heatsink/Fan, Memory and Power on switch cable. If the PSU fan doesn't power up in that configuration then it is probably a duff-psu, although it could still be the motherboard but that would be very unusual.
     
  5. elneckio

    elneckio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Standing on head
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thinking about it it could also be the power on switch.
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,749
    Some motherboards have a jumper which needs to be removed before you can get anything to work. Not sure if this would cause the power not to be on though. It's worth checking the manual to see if there's a jumper that needs removing.
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    If the mobo power light wont come on, it is fairly safe to put the psu at the top of the list...... any problems I have ever had, the mobo power light has always been on..... virtually the only problem i havent experienced is a psu problem.....

    good luck with sorting it!

    ad
     
  8. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That jumper is the CMOS reset jumper. Most new mobos ship with this set to "Clear" and it needs to be set to "Normal" for the PC to operate.

    I have fallen fowl of this many time - the first time I even drove back to the selling company to complain! How embarrassing was that???
     
  9. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +34
    Any idea what mobo's they are.

    The one i have is a

    MSI KT3 ULTRA R
     
  10. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont mean to give a conflicting view....... well actually i do! But surely if it was simply the jumper then Jed should at least be getting a mobo power light and he should definitely be getting the psu moving into action?

    Is having the jumper set this way a new thing....... i can honestly say ive never before come across it

    ad
     
  11. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jed.

    Without trying to power up, when you plug the power lead in do you get any lights on your mobo at all?
     
  12. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +34
    Sorted it.

    I put the PSU from my good computer,in to my new one and it worked.So it's the PSU

    Thanks for all your help.

    Cheers Jed
     
  13. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good news. Have Fun.

    Was it a new case? If so can you not take the power supply back and moan at the shop?

    Collin
     

Share This Page

Loading...