Problems with ProV?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by azzo, Oct 16, 2002.

  1. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Has anybody experienced brightness problems with the PRO-V
    and the Ae100? (or anything else for that matter)
    What I am seeing is a great picture that occasionally goes slightly darker for a split second. It doesn't look like a lamp problem and reminds me of old TV sets which used to change brightness when the picture was too bright.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    PS Could some one post their picture settings for the PROV and
    AE100 so I could try those.

    Thanx.

    Azzo.
     
  2. Gavin_Hall

    Gavin_Hall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Ratings:
    +157
    I remember reading something on these forums about the ProV not liking Macrovision. Do a search and I am sure you'll find the information. The messages definately stated that Macrovision was the cause of these problems.

    Gavin
     
  3. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks for that, I did a search earlier but not knowing that
    macrovision was the problem, I didn't know what to look for.
    BLAST - Now why didn't somebody warn me about this before!!
    Azzo - thanks for the response.
     
  4. dvdeviant

    dvdeviant
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this. If you pause a DVD and watch the still image, every 20 seconds or so the screen will brighten and then dim a few seconds later - not quite the same effect as full-on macrovision...

    My solution was to buy a Keene Electronics RGB > S-video adapter (approx £60). I run an RGB SCART signal from the DVD Player into the adapter, then the S-Video signal out from the adapter into the Pro-V. If you have a disc which you know doesn't have macrovision on it then you can test it (the Region 2 Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone is one of the few, I believe). Oh, and the reason for this unit working is that, apparently, the RGB signal doesn't carry the macrovision signal...

    Alternatively, get a macrovision disabled player...not too cheap! :(
     
  5. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks for your advice,
    I will probably get my DVD player (Sony 725) macro disabled
    and whilst I'm at it, get it ROM upgraded to remove the lipsync problems it is notiorious for. So in short I could have made a HTPC for the cost of the PROV & DVD Chip. Never mind. You live and you learn. Playstation 2 looks good though!

    Does using one of these convertors degrade the signal, or may be it upgrades it as it is now sourced from RGB and not S-Video?
    Or can you not notice any difference?
    I mean RGB -> SVideo -> VGA . Its getting ridiculous.
    Azzo
     
  6. TimF

    TimF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have noticed same problem - thought it was the PJ until reading your post.

    Funny thing is Ithought I had bought a Sony DVD player with no macrovision (900 - multiregion mod)!

    I find the output from the RGB on my DVD to be too dark (on Philips TV) so a RGB to S-video converter seems a non starter (unless some one has experience of using one in this combo of Sony 900 DVD, ProV and Panny 100?)

    Any body got any other fixes or ideas to sort this problem just using S video cabling?

    Tim
     
  7. Rainfall

    Rainfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi Guys, I brought a ProV from a forum member only last week I connected it to my dvdplayer via S-video then VGA to AE100, Im so dissapointed with it I have it up for sale already. I think/know my dvdplayer via S-video to AE100 is better and you dont get the brightness problems as azzo talks about- I have macrovision disabled so I don't think thats the problem.

    I've gone back to the drawing board and await a ProScan PAL & NTSC player to come on the market;) (cheap)

    cheers Steve
     
  8. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Steve

    What player are you using? Have you recalibrated the brightness and contrast after putting the proV in the link. If you cannot see an improvement you must be missing something. I think mine runs my HTPC very close.
     
  9. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Rainfall, Now I am very worried, you say that you have
    macrovision disabled and it still does it. Are you 100% sure?
    My PS2 plays games flawlessly through the S-Video -> PRO-V -> AE100. So it must be my 725 DVD, It does not happen via
    Component -> AE100, or S-Video ->AE100. Sooo, if its not macrovision then what else could it be?
    Azzo
     
  10. jonny m

    jonny m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    John Spicer
    The reason you wont see this problem is because when you multi-region'd your 709 it removed macrovision also.

    I am also thinking about a prov, just slightly though..
     
  11. Rainfall

    Rainfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi John, I use a LG 3350e when I brought it from Bennetts they assured me that the macro was disabled. I also tried lots of things including the brightness and contrast. The picture also goes slightly darker for a split second like azzo said, not on all movies but some. I really did think it would be slightly better than S-Video direct into the Panny but its not,

    cheers Steve
     
  12. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Steve,
    Have you got your ProV set up to XGA(1024x768)
    This picture is miles better than standard S-Video - apart
    from those annoying brightness problems.
    Also not all chipped players disable macro vision. An easy way to see if macrovision is disabled is to try and record a DVD onto VHS.
    Azzo
     
  13. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,047
    XGA is also much better than SVGA (800x600). I'm not sure why - perhaps because with XGA the projector is just downscaling, whereas with 800x600 it has to scale up horizontally, and down vertically?
     
  14. Rainfall

    Rainfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi Azzo, yes m8 I did try the above settings. I have found out this morning that my LG isn't Macro disabled:mad: (thanks for nothing Bennetts) they told me it was....so this puts to bed the brightness problems. I have boxed up the ProV now and its up for sale, (any takers) I'm going to wait for a new NTSC & PAL dvdplayer,

    cheers Steve
     
  15. Walter mitty

    Walter mitty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Rainfall,

    I reckon your Pro v`s faulty, Mines brilliant...
     
  16. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +158
    I'm having a slightly different problem with my ProV and wonder if anyone else has experienced it.

    It only happens on the composite video input, and the effect is a momentary picture breakup on very rapid movement or extremely fast changes of brightness.

    It's most noticeable when photographic flashes go off in a scene, but I've also seen it on - for example - a conductor's white baton moving against a dark background. It's as if the video processing can't keep up with the movement in the image.

    Do I have a faulty ProV, or does this happen to everyone else's as well?

    Incidentally, I'm using it with an AE100.

    Thanks in advance.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  17. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi Bert,

    I've not had that problem but then I dont use composit either so I couldn't be conclusive of which the efffect is caused by.
     
  18. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +158
    John,

    Thanks for the reply. I've not seen anyone else mention this effect (and surely I can't be the only ProV owner using the composite video input) so I'm inclined to think that my unit is faulty.

    I'm just reluctant to return it if it is, in fact, operating within spec.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  19. purdster

    purdster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    rainfall

    you have PM

    Cheers
     
  20. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,203
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +297
    Hi Bert

    I recently bought a ProV :) I have found that i also get a slight picture break up with svideo input, it only seems to happen on fast motion video. for example i watched Top Gear on Sunday, there was a close up of an alloy wheel spinning fast, the picture seemed to go streaky white on the wheel. i also see it when anything at all moves fast, like fast pans.
    I also got the impression that the processing could not keep up.
    Strange though that it seems to reduce the effect after it's warmed up for a couple of Hour's. I will have to leave it on for a long time and test it again.
     
  21. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +158
    Tim,

    That's interesting. I'm feeding my DVD player to the ProV via the s-video input and haven't noticed that effect on DVDs at all - it's purely the composite feed which is affected. And then, I wouldn't describe the breakup as "streaks" - more like the sort of blocking you see when a digital satellite signal loses power momentarily.

    I wonder if the quality of the interconnecting leads plays a part in this?

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  22. Rainfall

    Rainfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +14
    I have PM'd you back,

    cheers Steve
     
  23. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    I've just been watching Newcastle & Juve - and noticed the picture break up when it changes from no/slow movement to when players sprint....... hadn't noticed this before - processing probably can't keep up


    Mind you, I think its a fairly small price to pay for the other benefits of ProV.

    I have noticed that it performs better once its "warmed up" - a bit weird that - I wouldn't have thought it made any difference.




    Sean G.
     
  24. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,203
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +297
    Bert

    I am only using the Prov for sky at the moment, I have done a quick check with dvd and it looks OK. I realised earlier that I left the Prov on last night, so it's been on for 24 hour's, I have been watching it for the last 2 hour's with no picture breakup noticable apart from just a small amount during advert's, I guess it really doe's make a differance when it is warmed up.
    I am using a rgb/svideo convertor, so maybe this could not be helping.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice