1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with new Panny 6UY Consumer models?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by AVS Brett, Oct 4, 2003.

1. AVS Brett

AVS Brett

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,

I guess I'm a newbie here, posting mostly at AVS where Joe Fernand and others know me.

Ready to jump the gun for Panasonic's latest (and greatest?) I first wanted to see for myself if the 6UY series panel corresponds to my demanding criteria, as I have a 9" CRT front projector in the main HT.

I'm writing this thread not to cry "sour grapes", but because I have only found 2 shops in Paris where the new 6UY series Panasonic are visible in their 42" form with tuner: Darty Ternes and Magma. But because this has made it next to impossible to ascertain this new display's image quality in the real world.

It is not to either of the store's credit that the way they are set up is disgraceful, that is, unless there is some *serious problem* with this new 6UY series?!?

In the Darty store, the display exhibited a graininess that I had never seen on a Panasonic plasma of previous generations. I popped in my own reference Pal DVD into the Panny DVD player it was hooked up to via SCART, and presto: hazy, jittery picture lacking of all things in CONTRAST !!!

The Magma store was worse yet. It almost looked purposely misadjusted. It had such light grey black levels that it made Pioneers look pitch black in comparison. Funny enough, on the adjacent wall there was a 37" Panasonic panel displaying CRT quality contrast and superb black levels and colors. They were respectively the best, and the worst, displays in a shop filled with running plasma screens.

This leaves a number of questions unanswered:

1. Is the consumer model with its built-in tuner "botched" as compared to the commercial PWD units? (nasty scaler, defective inputs, lower bandwidth)