Problems with my Optoma HD300X

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by AVDavid, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    I have been trying to connect up my new Sony Blu Ray S790 player with my new Yamaha RXV-1073 receiver then out to my Optoma HD300X projector. I don't get a picture through and the HDMI light on the front of the receiver just flashes. I have an old Samsung DVD player HD950 and a Sumvision Cyclone micro 2+ file player connected in the same way work fine.
    I suspect its not syncing properly with the projector but I do not know how to solve the problem I've read both manuals.
    In my lounge I have an LG HR 925M combo Blu ray and this does the same thing as the Sony
    any ideas?

    We had a lightening strike hence the new kit, I lost my lovely Yamaha A2 which I had for 15 years my PS3 which was my Blu ray player, my Onkyo 805 was slightly damaged but it is now in the lounge in place of the A2. I used to run the TV from my samsung set top box using an HDMI lead 5M into the Onkyo 805 then out again to the Optoma projector another 4M run this does not give a signal either but I suspect I was able to do this with the Onkyo because it had an HDMI repeater and the Yamaha doesn't
     
  2. SteveCritten

    SteveCritten
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caistor Lincs
    Ratings:
    +4,687
    Have you tried the bluray player straight into the PJ to test?
     
  3. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    Forgot to mention I did try this but the Optoma couldn't find a signal. I connected the Sony player to my Samsung TV and it worked fine so I think the problem is with the projector I have never updated the firmware on the projector but I'm not sure if you can
     
  4. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    Correction I just tried that again and it says its receiving a signal 480p 60Hz but the screen is still blank?
     
  5. kbfern

    kbfern
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    17,929
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +6,093
    Have you put a disc in the player and tried to play it.also if you have 2 hdmi ports on the pj try them both.
     
  6. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    I have a disc in the player but without seeing the menus I can't start it playing. I tried outputting directly to HDMI 2 connecting directly with the player connecting directly the PJ sees a signal but no menu is displayed
     
  7. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    I cant for the life of me understand why it works fine with my old DVD player and file player and not the newer LG and Sony players it's very frustrating!
     
  8. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    I bought my projector in Feb 2012 has there been a firmware update for this model?
     
  9. SteveCritten

    SteveCritten
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caistor Lincs
    Ratings:
    +4,687
    It could be the HDMI lead can you try a shorter one?
     
  10. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    I've tried it with a 3M cable direct into the PJ but the result is the same it says its receiving a signal 480p 60Hz but the screen is still blank
     
  11. AVDavid

    AVDavid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    Ratings:
    +71
    When we had the lightening strike the projector was switched off at the wall socket but maybe the input module was damaged by a jolt coming down the HDMI cable which was attached to the Onkyo amp which was on standby?
     
  12. SteveCritten

    SteveCritten
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caistor Lincs
    Ratings:
    +4,687
    It might be worth mentioning it to the insurance company it sounds like something may be damaged.
     

Share This Page

Loading...