Problems with HD channels on Humax HDR Fox T2

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Lizzybif, Dec 22, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I've been having on and off probs with this pvr for a wee while now so am getting a replacement tomorrow thanks to www.petertyson.co.uk :clap:

    However, I am a bit worried that one of the probs has been break up on HD channels only which started a couple of weeks ago.

    The signal strength is always 83% and signal quality 100% on this Mux but the signal quality goes to 0% when the break up occurs. It then goes back up to 100% immediately after.

    So I wondered whether anyone else has problems like this? Is it due to weather conditions, as I have been told or does it sound like a fault?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    Sounds like an intermittent fault. My HD signal is only 50% (100% quality) reception is Rock Solid. Only other real possibility that I can think of is you have some local interference around the same frequency as the HD mux.
     
  3. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Sorry I realise this should be in the master thread for the HDR Fox T2. I did try to delete this message but there wasn't an option to do this?
     
  4. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I am actually hoping it is a fault Graham.

    There isn't any local interference. :) Well not that I can think of? I live in a village so there is no manufacturing etc going on.

    I know some people get interference on Freeview when certain vehicles go past etc but never had that problem with my Humax pvrs.
     
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    It could be something in your house or a close neighbours that's developed a fault. Even faulty street lighting has been known to cause a problem. If your new box has the same symptoms try turning off electrical appliances to see if you can identify the problem.

    Examples. Central Heating boiler, fridges/freezers. Other rf kit Wi Fi modems, cordless phones. Your electric blanket :D (just kidding).

    You get the idea :smashin:
     
  6. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Definitely nothing in the house as tried switching on and turning off all items which were plugged in when the interference took place.

    It isn't street lighting as happened during the day as well and no electric blanket. I'm hot enough as it is!;)

    The fact that it is so random makes me wonder whether it is a fault with the actual unit? Also, SD channels aren't affected and their signal strength is lower.
     
  7. russ331

    russ331
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    It's worth keeping the HDMI cable as far as possible away from the aerial lead, in case of interference. Also worth trying a different HDMI cable, if you have one handy.
     
  8. petrev

    petrev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    TX Mendip - DHR8205: FW4.22 - M1.35Blk
    Ratings:
    +1,015
    Absolutely - Also try disconnecting the HDMI completely (both ends) and then using a SCART connection to see what the reception and quality readings are !
     
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087

    It would be unusual for a hdmi cable to cause a problem with a source box. Generally the problem affects downstream rf fed tuners in the TV. The HDMI and coax patch lead from pvr generally affect a mux on the TV not on the stb.
     
  10. petrev

    petrev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    TX Mendip - DHR8205: FW4.22 - M1.35Blk
    Ratings:
    +1,015
    Hi,

    It has been observed that an HDMI cable near an input aerial cable can knock out the HD MUX meaning that it can't be found during a scan. Removal of the HDMI cable and a scan with just the SCART connected will restore the missing MUX.

    Pete
     
  11. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    The OP had access to the HD mux with break up confined to the last 2 weeks. At a guess there was no change in the connections.

    Graham
     
  12. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Your guess is correct Graham.:smashin:

    Nothing has changed about my set up and if it was anything to do with the HDmi lead the break up would happen all the time.

    As I said earlier the reception and quality of signal on this mux is excellent. Until it breaks up!

    Ah well I get the new unit tomorrow so time will tell.

    Thanks everyone.:)
     
  13. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +444
    Hi

    Hopefully it is a fault, however could be interference caused by this time of year, i.e. flashing Christmas lights or other peoples heating systems. The interference could be miles away from you as well. With analogue it was easier to identify interference but with digital you can't see the interference, only the results of it.

    Also we've had high winds recently, do you have an outdoor aerial that might have been damaged or has water ingress?

    HD is more readily affected by bad signal problems as it's much more compressed, so a blip takes out a bigger chunk of it.

    If your second box has the same problem almost certainly something local to you.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  14. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Thanks Phil.
    The break up has happened during the day as well so no Christmas lights and I have a loft aerial which was installed by a professional. :)

    If it was heating systems the break up would occur at the same time but it's been very random.

    I am really hoping that it's a fault as have had a few other 'niggles' as well.
    I really hope the new box will be okay as I really like HD and don't want to go back to HD.:nono:
     
  15. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +444
    Hi

    Let us know how it goes. We've had ours for over a year now and break up on HD never happens, we've a loft aerial not professionally installed and it hangs from the rafters by string and it's fine :laugh:

    Regards

    Phil
     
  16. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    Not the case, a faulty boiler gas valve can cause problems as the boiler cycles on and off by the thermostat (which in itself could cause problems). This includes your hot water system and it's tank thermostat.
     
  17. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,808
    This is not necessarily true.

    The interfering frequencies that cross the HDMI interface are dependent upon the resolution and picture content, and so in cusp cases like this can produce these effects only sometimes.

    It is a very common problem and you should at least eliminate it as a possible cause by connecting solely by scart, as was suggested earlier, to see if the problem goes away.
     
  18. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I'm actually getting a replacment today due to other probs.

    I can't remember whether it has to be kept a room temperature for a wee while before using?
     
  19. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I'm getting another one so, hopefully, it will be fine. Like your set up!:smashin:

    Fair enough but we don't have gas and our electric heating system is fine. :)
     
  20. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Well the replacement never arrived! :(

    So I've used another HDmi lead and hope this stops the break up.

    One other problem is it randomly turns off and reboots!
     
  21. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Still breaking up despite using a different HDmi lead. :(

    I just hope it will be okay on the replacement or I don't know what to do. Might just have to go for Sky HD instead as have got used to HD and don't want to go back to SD.
     
  22. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    That's definetely not right. Have you tried resetting the box back to factory defaults ?
     
  23. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,808
    It may be doing this in response to being overcome by intaking corruption due to the HD reception problem.

    Lizzybif - Will you please try the scart only connection test.
     
  24. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I did carry out a factory default setting and made no difference.

    It's not worth trying scart only as getting the replacement on Wednesday.:)

    There is no problem with HD reception as, apart from when there is break up, the signal strength is 83% and signal quality 100%.
    SD not affected in any way by break up.

    Also, the box turning off and rebooting doesn't co-incide with the break up.
    Thankfully, only does this about once per week.

    It was working fine from when I got in September until the beginning of December and don't know why as nothing has changed since then.

    Just hoping the new box will be ok. If not may have to for Sky HD as I have got so used to HD now and would hate to go back to SD for my fave progs.

    Thanks for all your help.

    Merry Christmas!
     
  25. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Well I think I might have found out why I am getting break up on HD channels.

    Despite deleting all channels and carrying out a manual search I acquired a couple extra Muxes!:rolleyes:

    So I carried out a factory default and then did a manual search and now have the Muxes I should have.:smashin:

    I now wonder whether either of these intruders were near the frequency used by the HD channels hence the interference from time to time?

    I still need to get a replacment though as this doesn't explain the random shutting down and rebooting.
     
  26. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    It would not cause the interference problem, whether tuned or not your aerial still delivers the signal. Typical problems from multitransmitter reception is series/accurate recording problems. Not interference with a HD mux.
     
  27. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Oh you've just burst my balloon!:rolleyes:

    Well I haven't a clue what could cause this then? I just thought the extra muxes might have been on a similar frequency to the HD channels and as the signal strength was very low on these they might have been prone to break up.

    Sounds like this isn't the case then? Ho hum.:facepalm:
     
  28. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,808
    You might if you tried the scart test.

    One way or the other - you could rule out this most common of the causes for this problem... or nail it as the culprit.

    It is the standard diagnostic procedure for this symptom.
     
  29. Lizzybif

    Lizzybif
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I would have tried the scart test if I wasn't getting a replacement and also I have a really sore back so don't feel like moving the telly cabinet more than I need.

    What exactly would the scart test prove bearing in mind that I have signal strength of 80% and signal quality of 100% with HDmi?
    Just curious?
     
  30. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,087
    A hdmi lead generates frequencies in the uhf band. This can cause rf radiation induced signals in the rf connections, if

    The primary induced frequency or one of it's harmonics is close or equal to
    one of the uhf channels used by your transmitter.

    Either the RF coax or the hdmi cable has poor screening.

    It's worth doing the test.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice