1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with 5.1 Audio

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by davidja, May 8, 2005.

1. davidja

davidja
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I'm fairly new to using HTPC - My set up is Intel 925 Board with onboard High def audio connected to my AV amp which outputs 5.1. The problem I get is the output is not 5.1, basically the sound is not dispersed through the relevant speakers.
    I have tried numerous DVD software players with the same problem. Power DVD offer an option however to upgrade to use more audio facillities. None of the other software offer any options.
    I also use Microsoft media cente edition that whilst allowig set up in 5.1 does not playback in 5.1. I've read a lot about codecs - though very confused, could that be whats wrong? Any ideas please.
    Thanks

UPdater - solved problem - installed full version of PowerDVD

2. jpfrost

jpfrost
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    davidja,

I have the same board but cannot get 5.1 sound. What settings do you use for Windows and PowerDVD (version 6?) ? Do you have the Realtek software? How do you connect the PC to the AMP - which sockets did you use?

Thanks

3. davidja

davidja
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I came out of the Digital coaxial into my AV amp. I set it up through MCE going to the DVD sound settings which brings up the PowerDVD sound setup I selected 6 speakers but not the Prologic setting.
    Interestingly though I also use the Imedian software, this does not give the same options and it dis not work.

4. lisag

lisag

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +296
    Have you tried selecting spdif passthru?

5. -Hitman-

-Hitman-

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: