Problems making a copy of a DVD for back-up purposes

josswallace

Standard Member
Reaction score
I am trying to bur a back up copy of a film I want to make sure I can keep. I have not burnt any films before, but I appear to be able to get past the protection but when I try to burn the DVD it appears that the total file size is 2 to 3 times bigger than my DVD. I am a complete novice at this so any pointers in the right direction, appropriate information sources to read, would be greatly appreciated.n

I'm sorry. This is piracy and we cannot discuss such matters here.

Whilst I'm surprised Mod didn't close this thread;
I'm sure it won't hurt to say that commercial discs are pressed not recorded, and that they are dual-layer so can be upto 8.5GB capacity (DVD9). You can buy dual-layer recordable discs, most modern burners can use them but they are (last time I looked) disproportionately more expensive than single-layer 4.7GB (DVD5) discs.
There is software which can recode video to a higher compression (and remove unneeded features eg. language options) so that the same running-time can be fitted onto the lower-capacity DVD.

Please take care. The above post is sailing 'close to the wind'

I did not close this thread in case there were matters arising which the OP may wish to raise... or other ways in which they could be assisted.

To forum members in general:

On the issue of 'piracy': There are cases where 'illegitimate copying' can be argued to be morally justifiable and cases where it clearly cannot... However, the argument is irrelevant, as the forum has a clear policy about this issue in order to protect itself, and it is set out in the rules which all members have agreed to.

Let me take the opportunity to display it here as a refresher:

Piracy

The AVForums does not condone or promote piracy of any kind. This specifically includes piracy of

* video material (copying DVDs or HDTV encoded movies via the internet)