Problems installing a subwoofer

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by jananc, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. jananc

    jananc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have a Denon AVR1907, and a mordaunt short Avant 309i subwoofer.
    The Sub has left and right line in and line out connections (phono plugs). The amp has only a single phono plug input. We have tried connecting the amp to the sub by using the left line in connection (which I think is what the instructions say), and we have also tried a Y connector to reduce the two cables to one for input into the amp. In neither case can we get the amp to recognise the existence of the subwoofer (using autosetup). Have tried all the suggestions that I can find on line:
     
  2. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    I'm not sure if it's a typo in your post, or me being dozy. It reads as if you are connecting the sub to an INPUT on the amp. There may well be one for use with separated 5.1 source, but I suspect what you want is to use the sub output on the amp (it's likely to be a phono socket, and is at line level, not speaker level) and connect it to the input on the sub. I'm not familiar with the amp, but it is unlikely you need to tell it that the sub is there - the sub signal normally is always there.

    Cheers

    Greg
     
  3. AngelEyes

    AngelEyes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,617
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Detached from reality
    Ratings:
    +1,635
    What Greg says :)

    Also, switch on the sub :D
     
  4. Sniper

    Sniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    Image of 1907 back panel... look on the right of the image ... there's a section labelled PREOUT, and there's one RCA connector labelled subwoofer - that's the one!
     
  5. jananc

    jananc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you - but it still doesn't work!
     
  6. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    Might be worth checking that they work independently. Do you know (i.e is either a replacement)? Alternatively, try feeding the sub with something else like an MP3 player. If you have an old stereo you could check the sub pre-out by feeding it into the input of one channel of the stereo and seeing if you hear anything.
     
  7. Adam Shaw

    Adam Shaw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London, where the Queen lives!
    Ratings:
    +99
    As above, and ensure sub is set to 'on' rather than auto.

    Also, check in the amplifers setup menu that the sub out is turned on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...