1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems connecting Sony HS50 to PC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by edhg, Jun 5, 2005.

  1. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to use my projector (Sony VPL-HS50) with my PC. I tried connecting the composite plug on the projector to the S-Video plug on my Winfast 6800GT video card (using the s-video to composite connection that came with the card). However, the projector could not detect the signal and would not show any picture. Is there a setting that I need to change on the PC so that the projector will pick up a signal?

    thanks
    Ed
     
  2. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may have nothing to do with your problem but I just connected the s-video on my nVidia card to my TV and if I switch the TV on AFTER the PC has started I don't get a picture. If I have the TV on the correct AV channel before I start the PC, it works fine.

    Dave
     
  3. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    weird! I tried it both ways but no joy. On my laptop at work I press F8 to switch sources so that it will play with a projector and wonder if there is a similar thing that I have to do for a desktop.
     
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you try s-video to s-video?

    Dave
     
  5. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    unfortunately not - I dont have a long enough s-video cable to try it with...
     
  6. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Hi Ed,

    Is there any reason you are not using the Sony's VGA, or am I missing something?
     
  7. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the improvement in pq would be well worth you investing in an s-video cable. Maplin do a cheap s-video extension lead. £5.99 for 3m and £7.99 for 5m.

    Dave
     
  8. martian1

    martian1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +242
    VGA is the way to connect :smashin:
     
  9. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the responses. I'm not using the VGA link as I dont have a long enough cable - the PC sits about 5m from the projector. I have a 5m composite cable that I connected with the s-video convertor.

    Since it doesnt work, does that mean I cant use the s-video link to composite at all? sounds like I might need to make a trip to Maplins...
     
  10. Metric

    Metric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    svideo? eww, buy a 5m vga cable I am begging you.
     
  11. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are serious about getting the best picture then buy a DVI cable!

    Dave
     
  12. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Firstly, the Sony doesn't have a DVI connector, so this would be a bit pointless.

    You can tell from other responses, the best way to connect an HS50 to a PC is VGA. www.lindy.com offer a 5m 'premium' VGA cable for £25.99. Having spent so much on the projector, don't cut corners for the sake of <>£20 to get the best results :)
     
  13. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent. Thanks guys for your help, I really appreciate it.

    Incidentally would a DVI cable with an HDMI adaptor (the HS50 has an HDMI not DVI connection) provide a noticeably better picture that would justify the increased cost (c£30 vs c£50)? That would give me the option of using the cable with my monitor as well as the projector (at different times of course!)?

    cheers
    Ed
     
  14. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry about that :oops:

    My HS20 has, so I wrongly assumed the HS50 would too. Just goes to show.

    I humbly apologise

    Dave
     
  15. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Dave. The Sony has an HDMI connection not DVI - I have altered my post above as I didnt make this clear.
    cheers
    Ed
     
  16. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi Ed,

    Surely you could use a DVI to HDMI converter? I have an HS20 with a 9M DVI cable and
    am very happy with the results.

    DVI to HDMI has to be the way to go, if not then VGA.

    Where are you located? Let's see if we can get you some local help.

    Mark.
     
  17. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mark,
    Thanks for your response. I'm in London. I was thinking that DVI to HDMI might be a better approach. I could get a straight DVI cable (DVI-I or DVI-D?) with a DVI to HDMI convertor, as that would give me flexibility as to what I use the cable with. Would that be a suitable way to go do you think?

    thanks again
    Ed
     
  18. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'd wait for a reply from someone with an HS50, I know JohnS on here has one 1:1 Pixel mapped that he is very happy with. Let's find out what he uses. To get the best/cleanest picture you'll want to use a 1:1 pixel mapped resolution, believe me this can make a HUGE difference. Using a DVI to HDMI with your HTPC screen res set to 1280x720 will give you a WAY better picture than S-Video, COmposite or Component out.

    The cable costs a fair bit but if want a fab pic it's the way to go, if you'll settle for less then why did you buy such a good projector?

    Good luck,

    Mark.
     
  19. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Do I not count then? ;)
     
  20. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hehe, Of course you do!, I didn't notice the detail of your reply, I was sneaking a quick peak at work, and I just repeated what you said about the cables.

    Mark.
     
  21. Metric

    Metric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am pretty sure that the only way to get 1:1 pixel map on this projector is VGA.
     
  22. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure I follow about pixel mapping (other than it is a good thing). Why would it only work through VGA and not through HDMI?

    Ed
     
  23. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    HDMI does not offer 1:1 pixel mapping, even with the new firmware update.
     
  24. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so does that mean that VGA is the way to go then? Or is it a case of going with the DVI-HDMI connection anyway?

    Sorry if I am being a bit thick here, by the way!
     
  25. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    If you are connecting via a PC, the overriding concensus is VGA :)
     
  26. paul1672

    paul1672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    hey urban,would you mind sharing your base settings for the hs50?
    your pics look fabulous.
    i've tried setting my hs50 up since its return and always feel it looks washed out...
    any ideas?
    paul
     
  27. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paul, how come your earlier message hasnt appeared?
    Ed
     
  28. paul1672

    paul1672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +36
    my laptop has been messing up badly and i thought i'd posted my message twice so i deleted what i thought wa sthe duplicate message only to find my message totally vanish....
    not having much luck with anything electrical lately.... :(
     
  29. edhg

    edhg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fair play. Here's one you prepared earlier (I'd be very interested to see how you get on!):
    "because the early hs50's have a problem with the hdmi connection that prevents
    it from showing a proper full screen......
    i know because i'm currently at loggerheads with sony service centre trying to
    get the firmware fix.
    i had to return my pj for a new bulb also and since its return not only did they
    forget to do the firmware upgrade but the machine is no longer quiet....
    after talking to one of their technicians today i was told they know about this
    problem also and that it too will be fixed when i return it (its goin back next
    tuesday).."
     
  30. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Hi Paul, I don't think my settings will make any sense to you. I see you have an 868, so assume you connect via HDMI?

    If so, you have far more options in the Sony menu than I have when connecting via VGA. This is because you tweak the PC settings more than you tweak the projector. When you get your PJ back, have a play, and then lets see if we can suggest anything that could help :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...