1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems after Firewire Installation - Help!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by groundy, Sep 3, 2002.

  1. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I posted the problem in the following thread:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=46309

    If any technically minded PC Buffs have any ideas, I welcome your replies. Brief description of the problem is that Windows 98 SE will not Shut Down after I installed a D-Link Firewire PCI Card. Instead, it just restarts every single time.

    Anyway, if you think you can help, please check out the thread above.

    :).
     
  2. kiwiranger

    kiwiranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd get rid of Windows 98 and install a MAN'S operating system. (Windows 2000). Win 98 is an unreliable piece of dung.

    I'm assuming that your friend is wanting to do some video editing.

    Upgrade to W2K or WXP (professional) and choose NTFS as the file system. You will gain the ability to have files larger than a couple of gigabytes which is useful if you're bringing in more than 2-3 minutes of video footage. (Fat32 limit in W98 is - if I remember properly - just 2GB for each file.

    Don't install XP (Home edition) as you don't get NTFS with that version.

    Good luck

    Chris "BOFH' Parke
    Kiwiranger
     
  3. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
  4. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +711
    Check whether the firewire install has altered some ACPI or Power Mangement settings in your CMOS setup.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  5. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for all the replies. I'll be getting the computer back of him next week so will make a note of your suggestions and check them out. I have a sneaking suspicion the only way to remedy the problem will be to change the firewaire card to a different make but I don't see why the firewire card alone should have caused this problem in the first place :confused:.
     
  6. themadhippy

    themadhippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    might be silly but have you checked that the correct option is selected on the shut down box?
     
  7. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've got my HDD formatted for NTFS and I'm running Win XP Home.
    No problemo.
     
  8. kiwiranger

    kiwiranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't know XP Home could do that.

    Well that's even more reason for an OS upgrade. Any serious video editing work will require the large file size feature from NTFS.

    Chris 'kiwiranger' Parke
     
  9. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me too.

    Why say it then?

    At least preface such statements with "AFAIK" or "IIRC" etc...

    NTFS & FAT are file systems. Win XP can use either, but NTFS IMO (been on it for ages) is the far better option.

    My OS (Win XP Home) did this for a while (i.e. rebooting on shutdown) as well as 98SE.

    A format & reinstall fixes it, but there are several causes in MS help area.

    It may be easier reinstall.
     
  10. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks again for the suggestions. I'll check them out on Tuesday when I get the computer back. Incidentally Chris, D-Link replied saying that the BIOS may need upgraded or the Power Management settings may have been altered.

    Kiwiranger, I'm not in a position to upgrade my friend's OS as he just doesn't want that done. I think he would get rid of the firewire card first :rolleyes:.

    If it comes down to a format/reinstall then so be it but I'm not sure if this would definately solve the problem.

    themadhippy:

    Come on mate - give me some credit - I do have a degree in Computer Science you know :D.
     
  11. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the exact same problem when I got my new PC. It seems there's a conflict between some firewire cards and AMD processors.
    I had to try 4 cards before the problem went away. The problem lies with the chipset on the card not being compatible with AMD. I eventually got a card from Evergreen Technologies from PC World (I know!!) and everything worked fine. The card is called Fireline, the complete digital video kit. In the box is a 4 port IEEE1394 PCI card, 4 pin DV camcorder adapter, 4' IEEE1394 cable and Ulead Video Studio software. If you can lay your hands on one, then I'm pretty sure it will solve your problem (I hope). By the way, I'm running WinME on an AMD Athlon XP1500+, 1333mhz.
    Find it here : http://www.unitek-systems.co.uk/def...line&Search=Go&searchdomain=All&categoryid=14
     
  12. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well Herbie, it now looks like your solution seems to be the only solution. I've tried everything else but the minute you remove the firewire card - problem stops. I'll probably buy the Evergreen card from the link you supplied, thanks.

    Out of interest, have you seen it cheaper anywhere else? What price did you pay for it in PC World?
     
  13. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Couldn't find it cheaper anywhere else at the time (Nov 2001). I paid £60 for it from PC World. I know it sounds expensive but it was doing my head in. At least that fixed the problem for me anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...