1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems accessing Hotmail

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Miniholic, Jul 23, 2005.

  1. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +398
    Can anyone help with this one? :lease:

    One of my mates is having hotmail problems and can't get into his account, it just comes up with page expired, tried it on different pc's and still no joy. He can log into my msn ok, and can see that there are new messages waiting, but can't get into hotmail itself to read them. :mad:

    Have tried clearing cookies and temporary internet files etc.. but still no luck.

    Thanks.
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    Is there some kind of firewall software running on the PC as well stopping it working ?
     
  3. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    I'm having huge problems accessing one of my msn accoubts as well. Keep gettin one of those boxes asking me to copy the characters which takes me to the sign in box which in turn takes me to another "copy the characters" box. Tried everything including changing my password 3 times, now none of them work. Got in contact with MSN - no reply.Tried to remove the messenger programme except its not on the list??? Even downloaded Messenger 7 and that did nothing. Strange thing is all my other hotmail/msn accounts work fine.Firewall is Zone labs and has been the same one in operation mso I cant see any probs there.???????
     
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I've not had any trouble. Has he tried forcing a refresh? (Ctrl+F5 in Firefox)
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,238
    Seen that problem when port 443 is blocked.
     
  6. Dr Diversity

    Dr Diversity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try switching off the software firewall - temporarily and see what that does. You may need to relax a few settings
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,238
    or when you've denied "msn.co.uk" the ability to leave cookies on your machine.
     
  8. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +398
    Thanks for your replies. :thumbsup:

    I'll pass these on and report back tonight.
     

Share This Page

Loading...