Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

problem with US version phillips 963SA

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by zoro, Jan 23, 2003.

  1. zoro

    zoro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    urgent!

    I used the firmware, listed on ur site for r2 players, by accident on my r1 player, without realizing it was pal prog out the box!
    Now, i am screwed up. it plays only pal discs, and i cant even access menues on rca/s video/component video connections...

    In prog mode, there are twigly green lines, no welcome page, and I cant access, system menue for reset!and I cant play ntsc discs, says error! darn it, I am screwed up., pls help me to undo this unnecessary damage!I can be accessed on icq too!

    Ps. orig firmware was posted by John archer!If he can rescue me..pls?

    http://www.homecinemachoice.com/news/index.html

    link to john archer's firmware post!
     
  2. ebury

    ebury
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +12
    dont think my problem is the same as yours but i also am getting the green lines you mention.my player is r2 hacked for multi/PAL using the well known codes.all functions are working fine except on the component output!maybe there is a universal problem with these green lines?have you checked for any info on avsforum?any news?
     
  3. zoro

    zoro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    i had US player working fine, on pal prog/ntsc prog with component video till I screwed up putting..john archer frmware..unnecessarily, now dont know? how to revert back?
     
  4. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,149
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +279
    Try contacting philips they should be able to provide you with the original firmware, maybe by downloading it from the net.
     
  5. soundman38

    soundman38
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Zoro

    Check the back of your machine and input the appropriate factory code.

    DVD963SA/001 play 159 222 012 00 play
    DVD963SA/171 play 159 111 010 00 play
    DVD963SA/691 play 159 323 010 00 play

    This should revert your player to out of the box settings.

    Please tell me you findings.

    Greetz soundman
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice