Problem with sky cable can you extend it

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by vallumlj, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. vallumlj

    vallumlj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    maidstone
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am having a conservatory built at the moment and I am planning to get sky multiroom in there. I want to hide the wires so I bought my own cable today to hide behind the plaster.

    The problem is the cable is not long enough to reach the dish. My question is can the cable be joined and will the sky man be happy enough to do this when he comes round to install the box.

    Thanks
     
  2. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    Easy to do (assuming the join is indoors)
    Have a look here at '3. How should I join the cable?'

    How do I extend my cable?
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2010
  3. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    Sky installers are supposed to do the whole thing so that it's covered by the warranty.
    They're all different so you won't know how he'll feel about it until he sees it.
     
  4. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    So what length do you need? Beyond about 40m, signal loss becomes significant.
     

Share This Page

Loading...