Problem with sibilances and high frequency distortions...

Modelistis

Hi, i recently bought a new home cinema system and i´m having some issues.... :(
In some CD´s i have sibilances and some distortion on high frequencys.
This is anoying and cause ear fatigue after some time.
Can this be from the cables i use or it´s limited to PRE-AMP-SPEAKERS?
Any help and advice is welcame! :)

My system

Arcam DV79
Rotel 1098
Rotel 1095
B&W 603 S3
Chord Chorus interconnects
Chord Epic Super Twin speaker wire

Thanks.

wizbongre

I'm no expert (at all!) but if all your gear is brand new it could be the speakers needing to be run in a bit.

Alternatively, it could be the combination of gear produces a bright sound - did you audition the gear together before buying?

dante01

Distinguished Member
B&W 603s are on the bright side as are the Rotels. It's basically a bad combo or rather, not ideal if you're used to something warmer?

Last edited:

Modelistis

I'm no expert (at all!) but if all your gear is brand new it could be the speakers needing to be run in a bit.

Alternatively, it could be the combination of gear produces a bright sound - did you audition the gear together before buying?

The gear is not new... so that´s not a ploblem of run in....

B&W 603s are on the bright side as are the Rotels. It's basically a bad combo or rather, not ideal if you're used to something warmer?

It could be that, but i´ve always heard good things on ROTEL/B&W setups....
But the fact is i´m a bit disapointed...
I used to have a NAD T763 and it also had sibilances but much less noticiable.

dante01

Distinguished Member
It could be that, but i´ve always heard good things on ROTEL/B&W setups....
But the fact is i´m a bit disapointed...
I used to have a NAD T763 and it also had sibilances but much less noticiable.

It could be the room acoustics, but that wouldn't give you the pronounced highs you appear to be experiencing. Is is definitely a physical problem rather than environmental?