Problem with Shaun of the dead and Pioneer DV737

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by BurninVermin, Sep 12, 2004.

  1. BurninVermin

    BurninVermin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +38
    Has anyone else had a problem with Shaun of the Dead (R2). I've had two copies both from different stores and they both lock up as the chapters change all the way through the film on my Pioneer DV 737 although they do work fine on my PC and Pioneer DV 505.

    I think it must be something to do with the disc's as I have never had a problem like this before with the player in the 2 years I have had it.
     
  2. BadAss

    BadAss
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +182
    Same here mate. Same film, same player, same problem. No problems with any other DVD just this one.
     
  3. happychappy

    happychappy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    londoniumish
    Ratings:
    +45
    I do not yet own S.O.T.D. so cannot comment but as a note Disneys Dinosaurs REG 1 is also a no go dvd (it locks at about chapter 2) although REG 2 works fine (much to the relief of my 5 year old) :)
     
  4. Juzminator

    Juzminator
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ipswich,England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got a DV737, and had various lockups (and one huge leap of about 30 minutes).

    Checked the disk - all fine, tried it in PS2 - all fine, so I surmised that it must have been a mastering problem. Guess not. :thumbsdow
     
  5. BurninVermin

    BurninVermin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +38
    Juzminator......Come to think about it I also had a 30 minute jump towards to end of the film but by skipping back 3 chapters and then fast forwarding for about 1 minute of film it worked OK, looks like I'll be sending it back and waiting for the R1 to come out........ :mad: ......shame because I really enjoyed the film even with the lock ups.
     
  6. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    I didn't experience any lock-up, but it had one of the most shocking layer changes ever. Took about 30 seconds to actually continue. This was on my Pioneer DVL 919. Very good film though.
     
  7. cityonfire

    cityonfire
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its strange how in this day and age and with the age of DVD now that we still get problems like this. My Panasonic A-360 which was bought back in March 2000 has had no problems with it at all. Yet on neer players it has had problems. Strange?
     
  8. Simon6776

    Simon6776
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Sussex, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +33
    The R3 is already out, and available from CD Wow, if that's of any use.
     
  9. BurninVermin

    BurninVermin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +38

    I have seen that they have it on the site although it's not available until the 20th of this month, does anybody know if the extra's are the same as the R2 version as CD-WOW have all details listed as TBC. I am also concerned about the picture quality as I have read that R3 discs are sometimes sub-standard.
     
  10. cityonfire

    cityonfire
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think the R3 has many extras if any at all to be honest. The reason i never bought it.
     
  11. BurninVermin

    BurninVermin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +38
    Well if thats the case I'll just have to hang on for the R1 version and keep my fingers crossed they included the extra's as it seems that there almost as good as the film itself.
     
  12. Juzminator

    Juzminator
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ipswich,England
    Ratings:
    +2
    My DV-737 isn't many months newer than that; it's not a new player by any stretch, though, it's newer than yours ;)
     
  13. cityonfire

    cityonfire
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah it is abit hard to keep track of players as there is that many bloody models. Its crazy
     
  14. DocShock

    DocShock
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Subtitles are constant on my Region 2 copy. I have a cheap Cyberhome DVD player for other regions, so I assume that's the reason. My Sony's only play Region 1.
     
  15. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Titchfield
    Ratings:
    +1,101
    i'm thinking twice about buying SOTD now, it seems there are quite a few problems with the DVD, and i have a DV717, so i expect any problems on later models of Pioneer dvd players will also be evident on my player.. shame, as this is one of the DVD's at the top of my wanted list at the moment, i'll have to make do with the divx for the time being.
     
  16. Simon6776

    Simon6776
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Sussex, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have a Pioneer 656, and had no problems at all with SOTD.
     
  17. the mechanic

    the mechanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wrexham,North Wales
    Ratings:
    +52
    I have a pioneer 565 and it played with NO probs whatsoever.
    BTW, S.O.T.D is the funniest movie I've seen for some time. :thumbsup:
     
  18. stevefish69

    stevefish69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +439
    I rented this very funny film a couple of nights ago, and played it Glitch free on my Pioneer DV-737. :thumbsup:
     
  19. Boba Fett

    Boba Fett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My pioneer dv626d is about 126 years old and plays everything i throw at it no probs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice