Problem with Samsung monitor and playing PS1 games

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by gerjomarty, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. gerjomarty

    gerjomarty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Derry/Cambridge (term time)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone, interesting problem.

    I recently bought Parappa the Rapper and Um Jammer Lammy off eBay for a bit of retro rhythm action gaming.

    The only problem is that they run at 50Hz on my Samsung 2053BW monitor. Which can't decode anything below 56Hz. The result is that I can play for about a minute before the screen goes black and helpfully tells me that I'm not using it in recommended mode.

    I was wondering if there was any way to either force PS1 games to refresh at 60Hz on the PS3, or alternatively a way to force the monitor to recognise the refresh rate. Or am I stuck with a nearly HD monitor that can't play SD games anymore.

    Any help appreciated. :)
     
  2. sykotik

    sykotik
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,098
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    co. durham
    Ratings:
    +2,269
    theres an option in the ps3 video setting (at the very bottom)
    "50hz video out put"
    have you tryed changing this setting ?


    andrew
     
  3. gerjomarty

    gerjomarty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Derry/Cambridge (term time)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I had it at automatic anyway, but did try both options. I think it said it only affected video from the hard drive anyway.

    Anyone have any other suggestions?
     
  4. sykotik

    sykotik
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,098
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    co. durham
    Ratings:
    +2,269
    how are you connecting your ps3 to the tv/monitor

    hdmi?

    are you able to use an other cable ie: the one that came in the box.red white and yellow cable
    try using that, it's just an idea
    but that may work...

    yes! the down side, now is that if you want to watch anything hi-def your going to have to change the cable over


    andrew
     
  5. gerjomarty

    gerjomarty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Derry/Cambridge (term time)
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't even mind switching over to the MULTI OUT cable every time, but unfortunately the monitor I bought is just that - it only has DVI and VGA inputs. I'm currently using a HDMI-DVI cable. So it looks like there's no chance.

    Thanks for the help anyway. :)
     
  6. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    Have you tried varying upscaling, smoothing and aspect to see if any of those work? I would have thought upscaling to 1080p or 720p would automatically give a 60hz refresh rate.

    What happens in the hdmi configuration is you disable all resolutions below 720p so that your ps3 isn't allowed to display at below 720p?

    I would have thought you would be able to configure it to get ps1 games somehow. Are you on the latest firmware?

    Mind you I have a similar problem with my 360. I use a VGA cable and being based in pal land means original xbox games are 50hz by default. If they don't allow 60hz mode like many games they won't work via VGA to my plasma. I have a standard xbox connected to my plasma anyway so no big deal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...