1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with Panasonic DMR-HS2

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jitasb, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. jitasb

    jitasb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a Pansonic HS2 DVD Recorder, which was all fine until I had a power cut. Now It don't work. When I switch it on, it displays the blue logo disc for a short while then displays "bye" then shuts itself off.
    I have tried unplugging for 2 hours then replugging...no effect.

    P.S. There is a DVD in the drive, but even when I switch to HDD, I still cannot get it to work.
    There must have some sort of safety cut out once the power went off.
    But now how can I reset it , so it boots up properly ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    switch it on and hold the on/off switch for about 15 seconds.
     
  3. jitasb

    jitasb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ekko, thanks for your reply.

    I have tried this..it goes into standby mode okay..but then when i switch it on proper..same thing "bye" then shuts down.
     
  4. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    press and hold the standby button for at least 15 seconds. After a while then press it once to switch it on and repeatedly quickly press open. You need to keep doing this in order to get the disc tray to open and get your disc out.
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    The HS2 checks the HDD and the DVD tray before initialising - if either fails then it goes into the cycle your experiencing. As Ekko Star says remove the DVD - if this doesn't solve your problems then it is probable the HDD has failed. Like any HDD if power is pulled during a write operation it is possible for it to be damaged. In which case you'll need a new HDD but will need it installed by Panasonic as it isn't the case of one out, one in I'm afraid...
     
  6. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    Not quite true Rasczak.... :)

    I had a noisy HDD in my HS2 and bought another HDD locally and installed it myself. Worked fine. When I switched it on, the HS2 asked if I wanted the new disc formatted. I pressed yes and it was OK from then on.
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    Interesting - do you have a UK model just out of interest?
     
  8. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    Yes I do.
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    I'm surprised. I have made numerous attempts to 'upgrade' the capacity of my HS2 and always found I needed to mirror the new HDD using a PC before the HS2 would recognise it. Admittedly I had one of the first European HS2 models off the production line so it could have been sourced elsewhere. Anyway good to hear - it will make failed HDDs (a common problem) easy for Panasonic owners...
     
  10. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    I should point out that I replaced it with an identical capacity HDD.
     
  11. jitasb

    jitasb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for info. Have tried the method of on/off then wait then open/close repeatedly.
    Unfortunately no luck, but I'll give it a try a few more times.

    The power cut occurred while it was in 'DVD' mode rather than HDD, however it was not recording at the time.
    Yep , see the point that it checks if HDD, DVD are okay, but the problem is getting the DVD out of there as the open/close button doesn't do the trick.
     
  12. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    You can't increase the size of the hdd, but you can easily replace it. The machine automatically sees the new drive and formats it for use. It is a standard 40 gig model, and you can install larger drives, you just wont get to use any of the extra space. It is very important that the power consumption is the same or less than the original as there is no spare capacity in the power supply. If you use a faster than 5400rpm drive or a heavier power consumption 5400 model it will probably start faulting whilst burning dvd's.
    Many people have replaced the standard drive with quieter models, if they find the standard noise irritating.
     
  13. jitasb

    jitasb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right !! Finally got the DVD out..but the bad news is that the unit still cycles round, then "bye" then switches off.
    So could be a problem with the hard disk drive.
     
  14. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    Now try the reset for 15 secs. Failing that leave the thing unplugged overnight and try again tomorrow.
     
  15. jitasb

    jitasb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep..tried that.
    Will try again after leaving it unplugged for a while.
    BUt I suspect that the HDD may have failed.

    How easy is to replace it ? e.g is it similar to repalcing a HDD in a PC ? ..as I have done that a few times without problems.

    P.S Thanks for all the help so far :)
     
  16. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    It is very easy to replace the hard drive, the only difficulty is opening the unit without damaging the front cover as some of the clips are very flimsy. Once open it is a standard hdd unit, however you may have trouble sourcing a 5400rpm 40gig drive these days, and bigger ones have no advantage and may draw too much power from the power supply, faulting the unit when it is trying to burn dvd's.
    Try http://www.thewholewideweb.com/forum/default.asp where you should easily find articles explaining how to do this
     
  17. arachnidae

    arachnidae
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem as described by Jetasb. My HS2 will start powering up, the HD and DVD-RAM reader will start cherning then nothing. The display changes from date and time to time only. The fan stay on and the unit will no longer shut down, even after pressing the power button for 15 s. Anything I try results in the exact same steps as stated (play, open/close, power, dvd, HD etc...) I know it's not a HD problem as I removed the HD and formatted it on my computer and it works fine. I don't know how to check the RAM-Drive since it would not even open anymore.
    When I try to enter the Service Mode (with power OFF, press Pause, Stop and Open/Close simultaneously for 5 s), I get Bye in the display, then back display of time only as above and the unit does not enter service mode.
    Anybody out there who can help please?
     
  18. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Again visit the site I gave above, there are long discussions about problems of this type. I presume you have a faulty media disc in the drive as if it is empty you will not normally have this problem unless the hdd has failed. If you haven't and the hdd has proved ok the unit itself must have gone wrong. This is very unusual as the hs2 has proved to be a reliable machine on the whole, with most problems relating only to the difficulty of getting over a faulty media in the drive, which stops the machine responding.
     
  19. Roders

    Roders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to everyone here.

    I had the same problem with my HS2 after a power outage. System would turn on for a few seconds then say Bye and shutdown.
    Replaced the HDD with another low power consumption 40GB Drive.
    Turned the unit back on, it asked to format the new HDD.
    Then all works again.

    Woohoo :)

    Thanks to all
    Roders
     
  20. BJAZZZ

    BJAZZZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi Roders, Just moved house went to set up my system and found the machine is going through a similar process (spinning active logo,ask to format disk, is unable to format disk after a while goes into recover the bye). Where did you manage to get your replacment hard drive and how hard to replace.

    If you can let me know that would be excellent only really use it for easy archiving and editing DVDs.

    Thanks in advance for the help.

    Bjazzz
     
  21. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,821
    I have a problem with my HS2. It works fine until I put a DVD RAM disc in that it didn't like. It played the titles of the disc fine but then I tried to erase or format the disc, it turned off with the code U11. Now I cannot get the disc out when turning it back on as it goes into recover mode and then switches off.
     
  22. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,609
    Once in the Off position press stop and channel up together [on the unit] for a few seconds to eject the disc.

    Discard the disc because it will likely always cause this problem hereafter.
     
  23. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,821
    Thanks but it does nothing. It stays off.
     
  24. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,821
    I still cannot get the disc out. When using the eject to switch it on. I get a open just before it powers off but it doesn't actually eject.

    Any other ideas? The machine is ok otherwise.
     
  25. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,609
    Hells teeth. This machine obviously predates this standard over-ride.

    The important point is to get the disc out... then hopefully things will be ok.

    A long press and hold of the eject button might work?
    Even grabbing the tray may be worth it!
     
  26. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,821
    Success. The front of the tray actually sticks out a little bit. I pressed eject and jammed a pen knife blade down the side and voila it ejected. :thumbsup::clap:

    Disc is getting scrapped. I may have have more like that as the discs are old (most were bought with the HS2).
     
  27. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,609
    Phew - Good news... and good luck with the machine.
     
  28. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,821
    Hopefully, now I know what to do to get a disc out and not waste hours like I just did.
     

Share This Page

Loading...